Saturday…July 4th…A Few Thoughts For Today….

In April I had a a showing of my newest paintings….I’d worked very hard for months to complete them…making sure everything was as close to perfect…as I could get it…creating small success in each painting….it would be naive of any artist to think…that every painting they paint is a success…rather…there are aspects of every painting that have some success to them….I had 15 paintings for this show….and at that moment that I acknowledged completion of the paintings…I also in a way…acknowledged their success….now as the days…weeks…months have progressed…after long observation of the paintings…I realized….2 of them were really successful…the remaining 13….were successful enough to be re-worked…in other words they were good enough to be a start….not  a finish….I’m not surprised by that….I am more thankful that ….that has emerged….allowing me the opportunity to see that what may be at one point in time….is not necessarily the same some time later….the possibility is far greater….because the time has passed for some level of newness maybe…to have worn off….or maybe I’ve slowed enough to really see what sits in front of me….or just familiarity…either way….the success was short lived….enough so though that I can approach the “Re-working” of the painting with excitement…..

 

yellow.snow.02

 This painting is 24×48, Acrylic on Canvas over Panel……I’m looking forward to reworking it

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

