Thursday…July 16th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

candy

“Your father is going to shoot the man that sold him those tires” Carol Redus, Death Valley, July 1962….that was what my mother said…as she handed me a box of this particular candy and sent…me under a train bridge to get out of the sun….my father walked west…Smith and Wesson 38 special pistol tucked into his waistband….I was not concerned in the least about the shooting that was going to take place…nor the possibility that we may be stranded in Death Valley for a…long time….I was completely enamored with this box of candy…it was mine….all mine….and I was going to eat every piece in the box…

I am constantly amazed at how triggers in our lives arise… replant us someplace where we once were…..many years ago….we may smell something…hear a song….see an image…and without any control we…..fly backwards….wings flap a bit differently…and it is only for a few brief seconds….enough though to fill us…remind us of an event….something we take with us always….much like people who have crossed our lives…no matter the duration…they have left something…their tattoo…on our skin…..a reminder…we are never done…..nor are they…we may never see them again…or speak to them…but they will always be there…and it only takes a sound…or a fragrance….to nudge us from our sleep…..and take us miles away…. on an old wind….

Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Thursday…July 16th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

  1. I could eat this post, it’s so bloody good 🙂 Soon as I saw the picture I got all smiley inside. I live on stories like this. Brilliant post, dear Sir.

    Like

  2. I read this to Clay for a bedtime story. This should be published in a magazine or journal. You are a fine, fine storyteller. I have a feeling you’ll always be around the way you describe in this post. For me, you will be.

    Like

  3. I’m back to read this again, I love it so. You and Elaine’s posts are my daily multi-vitamins.

    Thanks, you guys 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

