Tuesday…July 21st….A Few Thoughts for Today….

tree.01“Waiting”, Albuquerque 2009

I do this every year…around this time…and I don’t know if it is real or if I am making it up…certain days…I can feel Fall on the air…not a lot of it….just like a whiff of a bakery smell…maybe I’m tired of the heat…. eager for the Indian summer…all of the magic of Fall to begin….I know it’s not far away…kind of like anticipation of a drive somewhere new…not knowing what to expect but knowing something is…going to happen…and I guess I like that whole idea of “Not Knowing”…yet knowing something is going to take place…we forget about that as we get older…or maybe we just don’t want the unknown experiences any longer… knowing everything is measured out like a recipe…..follow the plan….sort of thinking…know what you’re going to get…that seems a bit to predictable…why play the game if you already know what prize you walk away with….I like to think that I have no idea of what tomorrow brings….it could be the beginning or maybe the end of something….but one way or another…I need to be part of it….

 On Oahu….there is a local bumper sticker that reads…”Eddie would go”….it is a tribute to a famous local surfer/life guard, Eddie Aikau that was killed…..at sea trying to rescue the others on his boat…the saying “Eddie would go”….says a great deal about the guy…he would get into the mix…no matter what…the outcome was really unimportant…it was really about the moment….the results of the moment…and being part of it…no matter what became of it….I really admire that mentality…as it seems very liberating….standing on the point of a needle…type living…something I know…could change things in my world….maybe force me to realize that there are few tomorrows remaining….how many shouldn’t matter…it’s what I do with them…..that counts

Uncategorized

One thought on “Tuesday…July 21st….A Few Thoughts for Today….

  1. I love the saying “Eddie would go”.. and the story behind it.
    Amazing.
    I want to be more spontaneous like that and live more in the moment. I tend to worry too much about “tomorrow.”

    Thanks for the reminders.

    Like

Leave a Reply

