Wednesday…July 22…A Few Thoughts for Today….

sausalito

“Between Two”, Sausalito, California. 2009

Sometimes things around us make sense later…when we least expect it…..or anticipate it….often not getting something is a clear indication that we were not meant to have it….in our lives for some reason….if we were to have had the object…would our lives have changed in such a way that the object would be responsible for the change…or are we the element that changes…while the object remains stagnant….and the changes in our life has nothing to do with anything but ourselves….we are pretty tricky when it comes down to the blood and guts of ourselves…I know I can convince me to do just about anything if I sit and discuss it with me long enough…I mean after all…I’m arguing with me…and I know how to argue better with me than with anyone…I’ve taken some time to really understand the ideas of what I “Want” and what I “Need”…both are two very different aspects of living…”Want” becomes about choices…desires….things that make a life perhaps a bit easier…more palatable…meaningful and full….”Need”….leans towards the survival aspect of living…things we can not do without…so choice appears to be a minimal requirement…while necessity replaces desire….choice has no bearing on “Need”….I’ve heard many people say and have said this more times in my life….than not …I need________________(fill in the blank)…thinking that by needing it….the idea of necessity makes it more valuable…more purposeful…more a part of my existence….when I sat down and really wrote down what I needed verses what I wanted…the “Need” list was…5 words describing what I needed….yet when I wrote down the list of true “Wants”….I found that all of them came from my heart…and were a bit longer than 5 but not by much….and I guess what I discovered form this exercise was…what I “Need” …is minimal….and required….what I “Want”….equally minimal….not required to survive….but essential to be what and who I want….

my painting mentor once told me as  artists we have an advantage….he said we can paint what we want our lives to look like…everyday….choose to paint it…rich…lucious….full….complete…beautiful…intoxicating….but choose it…

Last night I walked while it was raining…I stood under a tight grouping of trees….where I didn’t have to use the umbrella…thought about my life…and realized it has become what I wanted it to be thus far….it has had great successes….and devastating losses….but I guess they were a part of the “Need”…..that made….the “Wants”……real…..

Uncategorized

One thought on “Wednesday…July 22…A Few Thoughts for Today….

  1. I love this post Robert… as usual.. you and I seem to be thinking along the same lines. I have been doing alot of refelcting as of late as to what I truly need and want. It makes things so much simpler when it comes down to abiding by my “short list.”

    And it was raining here too… and I was sitting out under a porch watching the rain myself…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

