Monday…July 27th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

paintjob” Peeled in One Piece”, Memorial Hospital, 2009

I used to peel an orange….and try my best to peel it in one piece….seemed there was a good reason for it….I’d eat a “Mars” bar every morning….I’d buy it at a car wash…where the black women with gold teeth and beehive hair…called me….”Honeyboy”….I remember how good the exhaust smelled from the bus…I’d just exited 16 blocks before my stop….I made sure my lunch sack had 6 folds in it….and I buttoned the top button of my sky blue uniform shirt….I would draw in the window sill dust then…..with my mother’s knitting needle…..some days when it was cooler….and the grass was still green…I’d sit in the yard…squint my eyes….imagine each blade of grass was a tall tree of the forest….I was flying home…I carried a fawn colored briefcase….with a built in combination lock…on it…the handle was worn smooth….I began parting my hair in the middle….in 4th grade….my father told me I looked like a…farmer….I learned to drive a truck at 11 years old…down the straightest roads in West Texas….while he slept against the door…”just wake me up if something happens”…he’d say….I knew a Mexican Prostitute…her name was Wendy….she wore a platinum blonde wig…smiled…like Carol Channing….spoke English…but not so well….and then it became smoke….so much smoke…I could hardly see…and I dreamed of the Pecan groves….and how the water had left a stain on the wood….and the green color around…where the drip came from…and  a time…when I wasn’t certain…. but I wasn’t uncertain…..either….

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

