Thursday…July 30th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

adaptationNorth of Bodega Bay California, 2009 

It is amazing how …everything has the ability to adapt…based on some push or pull…my life up to this point has been all about adaptation…just to ensure there was a tomorrow…but today…I feel pretty done with adapting…at least on the large scale…there has been many things…put in front of me over the past 6 months…that had they been venomous spiders…I’d still be in ICU…but instead they were valuable…I should call them gifts…glimpses of life without the tangles of the vine….I’m realizing every day…time gets shorter by…one day…and each day I choose not to make that day the best day…I rob myself of opportunity….I began to think that if I were to die at the age my father did…I’d have 22 years left on the planet…that is completely and utterly…unacceptable… perhaps it is an “over 50”mentality…I’ve decided to begin my life with a different set of rules than the rules I’ve used living my life up until now…

1.    If you’re not excited to see me and I’m not excited to see you…we probably never will be…

2.    I’m going to become the type friend I want to have…that way I know exactly what to look for in a friend…

3.    If the explosion doesn’t  burn me when we meet….it’s not there…

4.    I won’t waste time on loving someone that doesn’t love me just as hard…

5.    I f I don’t mesh with someone…I’ll find someone I do….

6.    I’m going to get better about saying “No”….think more about saying “Yes”…

7.    I will no longer do for someone …what they are not willing to do for themselves…

8.    If I have to spend an inordinate amount of time nurturing a friendship….I’ll give them a copy of “Napkin Notes” to read instead…

9.    I won’t convince anyone to do anything…I left sales for a reason….

10. When I hurt someone or make a mistake…I’ll own it… I don’t have to be right…

11. I’m going to look for the beauty and joy in everything I see and encounter…if I can’t see it…I’ll look again…

12. Say what I mean…mean what I say….find those people who do the same….

 There you have it…my 12 commandments for living the latter part of my life….if we don’t think we need to change our ways…think again….

 ‘If you always do what you always…did…you will always get what you always…got”

“Think about it darling” Jerry Jeff Walker…..

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Thursday…July 30th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

  1. Well put.

    I have adopted some of these unconsciously already. Some are inherently Eastern in concept, too. But you knew that already. It doesn’t really matter where any of it comes from–as long as it comes from within.

    Like

Leave a Reply

