Tuesday…August 4th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

lunch-line

“Lunch Counter” Memorial Hospital, 2009

at the Parish School….I was the milk monitor….there was power in this position….prestige…and a real sense of….place….truthfully…the “Milk Monitor” was a position of punishment…

I stood on a tall stool….with half a peanut butter and concord grape jelly sandwich in my left hand….while in my right was a carton of “Price’s Dairies” finest homogenized…pasteurized white milk….I looked at the crowd of 300 plus students…and in my best priest’s voice…said …”This is my body” as I held up the sandwich….”This is my blood”…I lifted the carton of milk….towards the heavens….I was the milk monitor for about 3 months…a rather heinous offense in parochial school…you don’t jack with Jesus….in any way….

looking back on the experience of various “Private Schools”….I have to accept they were a breeding ground for some of the most creative yet disturbed children I have ever met…I’m certain some went on to be really top drawer professionals…accomplished miracles…and can somehow tie it all back to the Parish School Program….and that would be great…..it’s difficult to kick ass in sports though….when our mascot was a Saint…. there is nothing ominous or foreboding about a Saintly figure…eyes lifted to heaven hands in prayer…when you’re playing the neighboring…vikings…or dragons…you pretty much know who’s going to win …. we were always last…but there was a religious quality about being last….and we were certainly going to learn something from…it…humility perhaps…winning wasn’t everything…or maybe we were being groomed to be professional……………….”Milk Monitors”…..

Uncategorized

One thought on “Tuesday…August 4th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

Leave a Reply

