Wednesday…August 5th…A few Thoughts for Today…..

moonrise.02.untouched

“Moonrise August 4th” Albuquerque, New Mexico 2009

There has always been some attraction to the moon…for me…I sat out last night and watched the moon rise through the clouds….it seems so effortless….very synchronized….orchestrated….in a way that makes me wonder what else is that easy……that fantastic…yet pretty uneventful…unless you’re looking skyward….there lies the dichotomy….easy…uneventful…but so beautifully complex… to capture even the smallest piece of it becomes impossible…I guess there is something to say for the things we see…that we can not capture on film….or video…or paint accurately…

it is the whispers…from a lover….pillow talk that only you hear….designed only for your ears..your neck…it is those things we carry with us…an image of something….beautiful…a soft voice… a small bead of sweat….for a moment we are no longer present….far a way…from it all…recapturing a day in… a second or two….and we are there….

often when I look to the moon I think of …one of my favorite childhood writers…Edgar Rice Burroughs…he created the character…John Carter of Mars…who lay staring up at Mars from a civil war battlefield…wondering what it would be like to be on Mars…. his desire was so great he awakened…naked…on the red planet…befriending a giant green man with two sets of arms…Tars Tarkus…who becomes his comrade…through many a battle where Burroughs describers the scene as….”Blood ankle deep and bodies waist high”…Carter eventually meets..falls in love….marries the beautiful….Deja Thoris…and as his life continues on Mars…he becomes the “Warlord of Mars….

so I think tonight…I’m sleeping in the backyard…. staring at the moon….hoping the desire becomes great enough…so if I’m not around tomorrow or anytime after that….you know where I’ll be….

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Wednesday…August 5th…A few Thoughts for Today…..

  1. You’ve got me singing now 🙂 We watched the moon, too. I think it’s true that the best things in life are free. Now I know how much important things cost.

    Like

Leave a Reply

