Saturday…August 15th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

whiskers

“Whiskers and Bones” 2009

A guilty conscience needs to confess. A work of art is a confession. Albert Camus

not like any other Saturday…in a long time…..for that…I am pleased…..as one piece changes so do many….I too am glad for that….a transition awaits….a new path…unfolds…..the excitement of the unknown….begins…..I am learning to pause….take a real look at what is there …right there in front of me…if it is good for me now….it will be good for me a year from now….if not…it would  never have been  good for me….I’d rather feel reluctant than uncertain…more poised than concrete….

to collect: to gather together; assemble

I began thinking about what people collect….what reflection of their collections…are they….what is it they chose to collect and why…some people collect everything….while others collect nothing…I think there is a conscious collecting and completely unconscious collecting mentality….we migrate to items that somehow…speak…to us….align themselves with us long before we meet….perhaps it is similar to eyes meeting from across the room….you know it…you just don’t know when…where…or that particular rock…that ends up in your path…..its been waiting for you….as you have been waiting…..too

we collect people as well…all of those who have crossed our paths for as short as a few moments to many years….their marks on us…like our marks on them….have changed the people we are…an invisible tattoo…only we can trace the lines…the curves….the imagery…kind of our personal reliquary of sacred heart felt items….only….we  can identify…..the objects….

I’ve strived to paint this idea… use this concept in my artist statement as a way of understanding my paintings….and as clearly as I can define it in print….my  ability to define it in paint will be part of my life’s collection……that….and good Fusion… 

fingerprint

“Finger Print” 2008, Acrylic on Canvas over Panel, 36×84….

Uncategorized

One thought on “Saturday…August 15th…A Few Thoughts for Today….

  1. I’ve been thinking about what we collect as well… emotionally too. It’s been an interesting reflection.
    Thanks for saying what I try to… but so much more eloquently

    Like

Leave a Reply

