Friday…August 21…More Noise form the High Desert….

5.8milsmile

“Something in the Water” 2008

I went to bed last night thinking…about ….4.5 million dollar smile…I’m not certain what that means…but I certainly know what it looks like….this week has been a week…I won’t forget anytime soon…I have always found some relationship to an event …by something that presents itself as a…   sign…if that makes any sense…sounds a bit Medieval and  rather than thinking logically…..consulting an oracle may have better answers for me….perhaps it is my OCD mentality and why I do things like tying my left shoe first…or thinking something bad might happen.. otherwise…yesterday was the final straw…..I was out for Chinese food…the waiter brought 3 fortune cookies…using my usual method of choosing  a fortune cookie (which one feels hotter) took the most appropriate one….in it was…nothing…a fortune cookie with no fortune…so what sort of event does that predict…I immediately called the waiter over asked for another….with hopes this event was a mistake…image a fortune that is nothing….blank…I opened the other fortune cookie…the paper read…”You will be fortunate at everything you do”….whew…what a relief…from rags to riches…in a few seconds….so I was going to be fortunate….thank goodness….

I am fortunate…that I know….fortune comes in a variety of ways…and far too often people see fortune as a financial measurement rather than an internal one….I’ve thought all about the things I’ve wanted and never had….maybe that was the sign I wasn’t ever supposed to have them…even though I may have pursued them….thinking they would have been good for me….you know it’s like hitting every traffic light….maybe you are designed to stop…slow down a bit and see what’s right there in front of you…or perhaps….that constant stopping is avoiding something further literally down the road…that just might not be so good…there comes a time….that embracing the events in our lives…makes much more sense than fighting against them….trying to change what in many cases is….

I had a teacher once tell me…”That life was just a series of problems and our job was to solve them”….I bought into that for most of my life….and recently realized…life is not a series of problems….more a map of adventures….we get to pick which adventure we want…..except there are no refunds…or rain checks…and once the adventure starts…it might not stop for awhile….so bring enough food and water….we are going to experience these adventures…solo…with others…and with very special people….people that we love….it doesn’t seem like…”Solving” anything is necessary…it seems more like being a true participant  in the adventure is required…makes it easier if there’s rowing involved….

so we will all embark on new adventures…..expect the unexpected….or expect the same…we can live our lives as problem solvers…or adventurers….kind of depends on the map you’re using…I guess….

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Friday…August 21…More Noise form the High Desert….

  1. ok– first off.. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the photo.

    then, I prefer to think of life as a series of adventures myself. My current adventure is closing in so many ways…. it’ll be interesting to see what pops up next.

    Like

  2. “being a true participant in the adventure is required”…you’d be a hell of a writer for some lucky fortune cookie company. great string of words my friend and very, very true. smooches

    Like

Leave a Reply

