Saturday…August 22nd…More Noise From the High Desert….

gate

“We’re Dying to See You”, Cemetery Gate, Bodega Bay California, 2009

“When my time comes, just skin me and put me up there on Trigger, just as though nothing had ever changed.” Roy Rogers said that about what to do with his body when he died….not “Put me next to Dale”…or  “Burn me up in some ceremonial funeral pyre”….not that’s some real class….sort of the cowboy version of the Dali Lama…is how I see it….

I’ve been watching “B” westerns lately….and even the series “Bonanza”…has been pretty intense….but I have to say my favorite Western character is “Paladin”…played by Richard Boone…he stared in the series “Have Gun Will travel”…. a lone gunslinger/mercenary based out of San Francisco, his logo was the chess Knight….he was a hired gun who would travel to  small western towns and basically kick all of the bad guys asses…of course after he had been beaten up…fallen in love with the girl…who was already spoken for….but was intrigued by the “Bad Boy” persona…but knew…it was passing…because she really loved Caleb…the local ranchers son who was getting intimidated by some group of outlaws that lived in some camp just outside of town….because he wanted to be a sheriff….but lacked the courage to stand up to them…and when he had tried in the past…they broke his arm….and made him feel less than a man….so Paladin…would step in….

paladin

he always wore black…rode a black horse…with a beautiful silver getup…on the reins…and bridle….really tight clothes and a pencil thin moustache….anyway…I’d be really afraid…if I were an outlaw…and Paladin…Matt Dillon and Festus…The Rifleman…Ben…Hoss…Little Joe…Adam and Candy…..were all on the posse hunting me down….I think I’d be heading for Barbra Stanwick’s “Big Valley”…double back  south to “High Chaparel”….that would keep them guessing…..I…hope

Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Saturday…August 22nd…More Noise From the High Desert….

  1. And I loved, loved the Lone Ranger…”believe me know Citizen?” Clayton Moore was one classy dude. But my real cowboy crush was Matt Dillon, I still love Gunsmoke and Maverick and all of those old westerns. We were only allowed to have dessert on Sunday nights and every time I hear the Bonanza theme, I head to the kitchen to see if there is cake…

    Like

  2. Marshal Dillon and Festus!!! Oh, but The Big Valley. I used to skip school to watch that show. I’m with Elaine about Dillon. And let’s not forget Rawhide and Clint Eastwood. These weren’t shows, they were PLACES. I’m starting to think it really is about location location location…

    Like

Leave a Reply

