Sunday…August 23rd….More Noise from the…High Desert…

heartrocks“Heart Rocks” 2009

the Sunday before school starts…I decided to return to college…finish another degree …but this time in “Art History”…I’m doing it for 2 reasons:

REASON #1….as an artist the more I know about art history….the places…people and events that shaped the art world…the more it is to my advantage…art history is a dialogue that is essential to any artist…imagine your mechanic talking to you about your car yet unable to name what he’s fixing…”you…know…it’s that black round thing just below the motor…a few wires go into it”…..confidence is high…..so again the more art history I know the better off my work becomes…

REASON #2…I have a BFA in Studio Art…and the job possibilities that  opened upon completion of the degree…were staggering to say the least…so as a burger maker at the local What a Burger…I have a far more creative flair when it comes to constructing hamburgers than… say those who …have a degree in History or English…with an Art History…and a Studio Art degree….my burger future is limitless….not only can I create an edible masterpiece…but also…describe particular techniques that went into the construction of the meal…as well as the visual description….using art terms like chiaroscuro…..Gestalt….distemper….I can create burgers with soul…..something you hardly want to eat….rather sit and discuss the minimalist quality and why…why did he put that one french fry…there….it creates a level of tension that  not only unifies the meal…but also…establishes a distinctive separation between the two sources of back ground luminosity…

I have resigned myself to the fact that as an artist…my resume…no longer interests the suit and tie world…unless of course they are collectors…while my current resume…is designed more for a job I create for myself….something I have to work much harder at than working for someone else…and I am very alright with that…there is something nice about realizing I am diversified enough to be a painter…a marketing rep…advertising agent….secretary…designer….human resource department….customer service rep…sales agent…purchasing agent….poster child…and many more persona’s necessary to be just an artist…..

I think we are all born artists….Mom and Dad…decide early on what they think they want us to be….Television…overpaid sports celebrities…spy movies….the guy down the street with the race car….the recruiting agent…your best friend…beautiful…handsome…people of the opposite sex….current savings account balance…clothing stores….car dealers….all help bend us another direction than being artists….instead we become…professionals that contribute to society on a level that EVERYBODY seems to understand… short term mutually understood contribution seems to be the right way of doing things…that is why there are tract homes…and people living literally 5 feet away from their neighbor…we can keep an eye on each other….develop a little hive of people just like us…to perpetuate little people just like us…..there is nothing wrong with the mentality at all….I think people should live the life they choose….and live it to the best possible position….because regardless of how different we are we also have so much in common…we all want to be:

loved, respected, appreciated, understood, touched, heard, desired, valued, cared for, tucked in at night, kissed, held, be part of something big, made to smile and laugh, comforted, and overall accepted for who and what we are…with out alteration….because we are indeed perfect….flipping burgers….crunching numbers…splashing paint…or killing commies….still perfect….

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Sunday…August 23rd….More Noise from the…High Desert…

  1. this is perhaps my fav post so far… especially the last paragraph. We all share the commonalities there. Thank you for saying so elequently what I have been discussing with myself in my mind.

    And I love your collection of stones.

    Like

  2. I love your posts, Robert. Not any one particular thing, but the whole bowl of soup. And I like how each bowl comes with a variety of ways to sip the soup up.

    This post? It’s the last bit about what everybody wanting the same thing. I think you nailed it perfectly. Bless you for that 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

