Wednesday…August 26th…More Noise From the High Desert

dna.testresults

“DNA Test Wall”, Albuquerque, 2009

I pretty much decided the other day that everything I need is right there….in that basket by the front door…I just have to keep putting it in the basket so when I need it…there it is….we have to constantly replenish ourselves with whatever it is we need to keep the feet…one in front of the other…I guess we all have some method that works…and have developed that over our lives…probably don’t think a great deal about it though…just fill the glass with bliss…joy and happiness…have a few drinks and move on through the day…but it can easily turn into something like those people we all know…who still have the same haircut…since 1973….what does that say….

how we refill ourselves is as important as what we refill ourselves with…I studied Kenpo Karate and Tae Kwon Do for 20 years….it refilled me regularly…yet now…it does not….what fills me is time…good quality time in my studio…watching things come to life….watching a painting take the necessary dips of success and failure…watching the process unfold in front of me..even though I’ve seen it many times…..before…what refills me is standing on a particular rock by Cabezon…where I can close my eyes…hear every bit of nothing…so loud it is deafening….it refills when my feet crunch the earth below….and I am moving from one place to another….I am filled by a long walk along the river…when the sun is setting…I am filled by doing something I know will be helpful and good for someone else…it refills me those first few moments when I awaken…comfortable…warm…knowing there is so much in front of me I can hardly wait to get out of bed…I am refilled by those who love and those I love….our list become endless and we add new things everyday…rarely do we drop things though…so I guess what I am saying…the more full we become..the more of everything we are …and the more of everything we are…the more knowing we become…and any knowledge dictates greatness…on some level…so we become greater…

our cups…small…require constant attention…constant refilling….full is only a temporary place….as what we add…that much must leave….so now the issue of becoming full is important…yet not nearly as important as what we choose to fill ourselves with…it is the quality vs quantity debate…do you want a lot of a little or…a little of a lot….it’s all choice….and both smell like freshly cut flowers on some days….

this Kata is incredible…something worth watching…

Uncategorized

One thought on “Wednesday…August 26th…More Noise From the High Desert

  1. New favorite post, Robert. This one has stirred my butterflies and they are clouding up amongst themselves. I smell a migration coming on. No one else puts things the way you do. You, and Elaine, have become my morning read of the Times. The title of this photo is perfect, I love it. I’m moving in my own space here that is connected to yours there. I see the truth in what you write of. Thankful, here, for your sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

