Sunday…September 6th…More Noise From the High Desert

sunset-over-san-jose

“Sunset over San Jose” 2009

I like the word…”Howdy”…I’ve used it since I was a small child and growing up in West Texas…everyone around me said…’Howdy”…seems a more real way of greeting someone….with a “Come on over for fried chicken…corn and mashed potatoes”…sort of hello…West Texas…if you haven’t been there is a very unique spot on the planet…that is where the rubber band is stretched tighter than a crab’s ass in a sand storm…( a west Texas saying)…because the place is trying hard to not be a bunch of skoal dipping…pick-up truck driving…Coors drinking… cowboy hat wearing….gun carrying….2 stepping….rednecks…there is a faction of people that wear suits…like literature….and art….even drive European cars….so the opposition is there…and hopefully they will have an impact that will change things…one of my favorite West Texas towns is Ozona….there is really nothing there other than a restaurant…and a few out buildings…but it is a stop on I10…and well worth seeing the waitresses with their beehive hair…cat eyed glasses….lime green stretch pants and sequenced shoes…always calling you “Darlin”….

our roots….regardless of the origin…are where we started something…..and something we did for a long time or maybe are still doing…I think of the many exciting adventures I had in Texas….the exploration of miles of  untouched desert….and it was wonderful…that place gave me ideas of what I thought life would be like….it showed me there was so much beauty just out in the desert..on a cool October morning…I still smell certain smells in winter that I recall from…there…crisp biting…scents…each place has something really incredible about it….and something that will rub off on those that experience it…if they’re in it enough…

but you couldn’t drag me back with wild horses…..

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Sunday…September 6th…More Noise From the High Desert

  1. I think those could be my relatives there in Ozona you are speaking about and you know that the bigger the hair the closer you are to heaven. Or so I was told over and over in TX…I read once that smell/odors can trigger memories farther into our minds that any other sense. I think that is true. Some scents make me cry before I even realize what I am experiencing. You always come up with the most amazing things that make me think, or laugh and think or think and then ponder. Thanks for putting it out there, darlin (or my favorite…sugar)! smooches

    Like

  2. Spectacular post. I live part of this world through you, Robert. Your Texas sayings tickle me endlessly. You have a unique and wonderful flavor. Kinda like the scent of roasting chilis in autumn air. Love Leau’s bit about the bigger the hair the closer you are too heaven. hehe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

