Saturday…September 19th….More Noise From the High Desert….

steve-and-mars

“Steven Art and Mars in White” 2009

“trying”….that was the first word on my mind this morning…I’ve been told…if you’re trying it…you’re not doing it…”Try” is an attempt that may be a toe in the water sort of thinking…testing the temperature to determine if doing it is the next choice….where as doing it…is the plunge without preliminaries….or at least minimal ones….there has to be a knowing to “doing” and some skepticism  to “trying”…I am going to try my best…or I am going to do my best….I can hear the difference when I say them…aloud….the “try” statement is weak…lacking any real grip…while the “do” statement sort of says you’re already in it….just didn’t say anything about it….to busy doing it….

I realize they are just different…ways of saying somewhat of the same thing…but their differences are significant…made me think of my conversations and how I am interpreted…how I interpret …what people say…I think….and I stress I think….we interpret based on a myriad of filters…emotions… history…our experiences…expectations….knowledge….wisdom….empathy….are all coatings that go over the conversation…and somehow when it exits the carwash…we have some semblance of  interpretation of what we think we heard…yet it may be further away from what we heard than not…

this in mind…perhaps the idea of becoming a better…more compatent listener…makes us more capable of communicating…from a level of clarity…think about it….when you can master one side of anything…the other side is pretty easy…what’s the opposite of listening?????……

our task is pretty easy….it’s not guns…nice cars…and breast augmentation….or pots of boiling water filled with lobster…sent from Maine or measuring the square footage of the house to see if things are changing….it is hearing what is said….digesting it…responding to it….so it’s understood….that way you have much more time for….making out…and fooling around…remember…97% of communication is non-verbal…so talk less…listen more….what would you rather be doing….talking or…chasing your partner around the house with the Zorro outfit on and the spray bottle of flavored Kama Sutra oil…in one hand and a fly swatter in the other…while singing “Volare” and wearing diving flippers….in the dark with a strobe light flashing to every  song “Frankie Goes to Hollywood” ever did……..I think I know……

Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Saturday…September 19th….More Noise From the High Desert….

  1. LOL Awesome. Zorro in flippers singing away in Italian, maybe. Our imaginations are wild horses and need to be cut loose on a regular basis. I think that’s one way to air the soul out. Great song with today’s post. Happy Saturday 🙂

    Like

  2. Very Gertrude Stein today, Robert.

    Lao Tzu called it, “listneing with a quiet mind.” The key to actually hearing others, not inferring what you think they’re saying. To receiving what others are feeling. To absorb everything without bias.

    Like

  3. Pingback: A Gertrude Stein Moment (for Robert) « Art by Ren Adams

Leave a Reply

