Thursday….October 8th…More Noise From the High Desert

rock-glass

“Rock Wall Behind Glass, Hmmm” 2009

self appointed……what a great idea…I’m going to self appoint myself…into a great paying job that doesn’t require I do whole lot other than show up for the company gambling junket twice a year….and then I’ll self appoint my self…director of directors…kind of king of kings…I’ll eat a short stack of pancakes every morning…wipe my mouth with the table cloth….slurp coffee as I’m heading out the door…to do kingly duties….

Malcolm Gladwell wrote a book titled “The Outliers”…he talks about developing self….and what it takes to be a master of anything…it is 2 very simple applications….1, find a process to repeat…..2, repeat the process for about 10,000 hours…there you have it….master !!!!!…the idea of time in the trenches makes all of the difference….the more we do something the more familiar we become with the elements of the process that are not visible until we are waist deep in it…but in order to get waist deep into anything requires wading into it….which takes time…people sometimes discount the ability of others based on their perceived idea of the process combined with the masters’s ability to make the process look easy….then realizing after trying the process that the ease is the personal finesse of the master…

I studied Martial Arts for 20 years…and to watch someone who has a grasp on a particular technique verses another who has the technique in their dna…is completely different…the one just holding the skill….their movements though seemingly smooth and very directed when compared to the other appears choppy…pensive… and unclear…while the master of the technique….moves like water….precise…even flow and movement… is the technique rather than executing the technique….the only explanation for that level of precision is doing the technique a few hundred thousand times…nothing more…

I think we all do something very well without a great deal of training…but that something is usually pretty basic and simple…I know a man that makes eating raw cauliflower look spectacular….so appetizing and delicious…me when I used to smoke made smoking look really enjoyable….my best friend growing up made eating a green apple…an experience you’d soon not forget….I ate a few hundred apples just to see if what was happening to him would happen to me….watching my buddy Andy enjoy a beer….is a magnificent experience…you could sell tickets to the event with no trouble….the important stuff…(not that beers…cauliflower…cigarettes and green apples are not important) takes intense effort….repitition…and a voracious comittment…otherwise…it is merely an attempt…

on that note….I’m going to have a smoke….drink a beer….chop up some cauliflower…and green apples….and see what can happen….

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Thursday….October 8th…More Noise From the High Desert

  1. Self-appointment. Yep. I’ll try it. For the next hour or so I am a, THEE, self-appointed Cookie Queeen. I think it helps to use caps on the title. Or in the title somewhere šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

