Wednesday…October 14th…More noise form the high desert….

october-9

“Changing” 2009

“they sang  a do wa diddy…it aint no town and it aint no city…mighty small and might pretty…a do wa diddy”…I grew up listening to a variety of music…my mother…would sway around the house to George Gershwin…while my father taught me to chew Beech Nut  tobacco to Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys….it was very diametrically opposed….Big Balls in Cow Town on one side….Porgy and Bess on the other…maybe that was their plan…it’s hard to say…

I took piano lessons for a few years….played in some recitals…and overall couldn’t grasp the idea of writing music….I supposse now it might be easier….only because I have the desire to know the process…while then I could have cared less about what follows A flat in the base line…funny…I can read music in the treble but not in the bass….my point is I was doing what my parents either did not do and wanted to…or did and did it less than I did…I was a Boy Scout….an eagle scout no less….not really because my aspirations were to soar with the eagles…but because my father always wanted to be a Boy Scout…and because of the economic times….and hardships of his life…Boy Scouts had to be a dream rather than a reality….neither of my parents attained a degree from the university…my brother received as high as a P.hD…I….a Bachelors….

I’ve always heard parents wanted their children to have more than they had….that sounds really nice if there is no strings attached…helping someone be what they want with no expectation is a wonderful gift….giving them a opportuity to flourish….without the first few years being that of an indentured servant….is ideal…take this idea even further…do this with people….friends family…etc….

so often we want someone to squeeze into the particular mold we carry around with us…and rather than waiting for the Prince/Princess Charming kiss…we instead…spend years pushing and stuffing this person into a size 34 when in reality they are a 54….and even though a large part of them fits….there still is a large part of them that doesn’t fit…not matter what we do….with the exception of surgery….so maybe rather than a mold of perfection we….develop an idea of perfection…or color…or smell…or sound…or song….that matches….everybody is perfect in their own way….and does have a perfect match out there somewhere…it is just finding them….if that is what is important….

we are what we are….and will be what we will be…sure we are altered by events…people…actions…but fundementally we have a road map that is guiding us to some place….where abouts….unknown…..until we get there….

2 thoughts on “Wednesday…October 14th…More noise form the high desert….

  1. I think that today’s post couldn’t have been more perfect for me. It is both what I needed to hear, and beautifully said.
    Funny– that was one of my fav songs back in the day 🙂

    THANK YOU

    Like

  2. I’ve always thought it’s bizarre how parents will work themselves to death to give the kids what they didn’t have. They never seem to understand that their kids are individuals with their own agenda and work to do in life. Kids have their own dreams. They didn’t live the lives the parents did. They aren’t even aware of what it was the parents wanted and never had. Weird, isn’t it? So many people are walking around with ficticious “realities” that they support and respond to as real. I’ve noticed they expect others to ride that ghost-wagon with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

