Monday…October 19th….I don’t think I’ll eat fish sticks anymore….they’re smart as dogs….

dancers

“The Dancers” 2009

On my way back from the airport this morning….I experienced that calm of the morning before the sun rises…it’s not night yet it is not day…it’s that in between time…that is so magical…maybe I’ll call it the “Barry White Time” from now on…..

I sat for a few hours yesterday just watching the Koi at the Bio Park…there was something so hypnotic and peaceful about the experience…early this morning I realized…there has been something missing in me…something I had for many years and for a myriad of reasons… has escaped me…and I…it…I have let my spirituality wither a bit….never lost it…just spent less time with it…I recall how it was…some years ago…when I would take the time to meditate…breath….take in everything around me…feel what was right there….I required a different stimulation…sound…sight…smell…were most important…my days began with being quiet….taking in…I awakened early…lived my day….retired early…I don’t profess the monastic life nor would I ever want that life…I just recall a time when…being…was…..the most important part of the experience… to the point where living was about what things tasted like…or did the fragrance of something stop me…force me to pay attention….did the sound of the bells ringing on the porch….really wake me or do I just have that sound in me at a cellular level…was loving someone…what made me the best I could be….without thinking about it… it was easier to release what cluttered my world….and easier to embrace what beautified it…as well….

and it took a few fish swimming in a pond to…ring the bells….push the scent of freesia on the air…hear a waterfall…somewhere in the distance…. remember what passionate love feels like….and how a particular color of blue can lighten my day…all day….

sometimes our wake up calls are derived from a variety of sources…and other times they’ve been laying there….just waiting for us to step on their tail….either way….if  it’s fish in a pond…The Virgin in a tortilla….road kill on the way to points west…or an old country western song….as long as it happens is what’s most important…otherwise…you’re dancing the same dance over again….sometimes without music….

3 thoughts on “Monday…October 19th….I don’t think I’ll eat fish sticks anymore….they’re smart as dogs….

  1. OMG. This photo just made me cream my levis. What a wonderful post! Is the text from an older time than today? It seems like it might be so. “road kill on the way to points west” gives me a big fat smile. I love reading your posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

