Wednesday…October 21st…Should I take the Happiness? or what’s behind door #3…

pond

“Mirror Image” 2009

I heard a question yesterday…I’d not heard in a long time….it’s one of those questions that always stops me ….makes me reel it back in….think for a few moments..how true or how untrue is it in my life at the current moment in time….sort of put everything on the scale and hope the balance is grossly out of balance in one direction….at lunch….I overheard one woman ask another……..

“DO YOU WANT TO BE RIGHT OR DO YOU WANT TO BE HAPPY?”

I know I have given up happiness for the desire to be right…in my life…..and I guess the part that bothers me the most…is maybe the idea of being right….isn’t right at…all…so it becomes a double loss…not only did I lose the potential to be happy….but my version of right may have been completely wrong…so…what was achieved….nothing…other than a great deal of lip service….some practice on posturing ( which I certainly don’ t want)….a lot of emotional strain…and in the end…nothing was accomplished…..

I grew up in a family where “Right was Might”…being “Right” meant you had an advantage…an edge…something that when all of the scores were added up…the guy who was most “Right” most of the time…got to push the button…or lick the cake batter spoon….or better…know they were king  because Right” dictated some level of unconscious power…and for some reason that power was the sharper knife…the bigger muscle…the louder voice…the better of the best….and ficticious as it was it was also true….to a degree….those who have to be right are missing out on all of the other opportunities that go with not being right….

again after hearing this statement…it really pushed the oak stake through my vampire heart…I hissed alittle…smoked…burst into flames…and basically turned into a gelatinous mass….until I realized this is something I can change…with little effort….I don’t have to be right…and like most of us I do want happiness at the forefront of my life….

somehow “Happiness” and being “Right”….just don’t go together….does being happy make you right…or does being right make you happy….can you be happy and right…or is it possible to be right and happy….or are they one in the same….what about be happy and wrong…..or unhappy and right…..I suposse you can answer YES to all of the questions…as well as  NO…..but the bottom line is you…if “Right” makes you happy….and you have to be right to be happy….you might be facing a few troubled years ahead and you might want to find people who are OK with being “Wrong” a large portion of the time…where as if “Right” doesn’t enter into the happiness equation…happiness then becomes a virtually endless buffet of creamy chocolate pies….eclairs…..bread pudding….home made chocolate chip cookies….and a really tall glass of icy cold milk…..fat free…sugar free…of course…..I’m not trying to be right…but your health is important…..


2 thoughts on “Wednesday…October 21st…Should I take the Happiness? or what’s behind door #3…

  1. To live life in pursuit of happiness will always leave you chasing after it.

    Take what’s behind the door. It’s about the journey, and happiness can come along with the journey.

    …and hey–I recognize those photos. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

