Tuesday…October 27th…Mars wants a new religion….and photos of a ghost town….

dead-friend

“All of my rowdy friends have settled down” 2009

I had coffee with my friend Mars….she’s tied between becoming Jewish or Catholic….Jewish because of all of the great holidays….Catholic because of the neat rituals and the Virgin Mary….and of course the Sacred Heart…I suggested Greek Orthodox….Great hats and incredible clothes…and the rituals….phew…..second to none….she’s just not interested ….I told her…..let’s compare  religion to living in a vacation spot…her favorite…Machu Pichu….Mars….could you live in Machu Pichu……eternal toutrist…altitude sickness….and all that goes with it there at the top of the Andes….think how long it may take to get used to drinking the water….is there cell phone coverage…internet….these are but a few questions you’d need to know before moving south….and becoming Catholic…you’d have to confess….gay friends…all going to hell….you’d have to become guilty….take the body and the blood….go to mass….read a bunch of stuff that I….know you wouldn’t read….you’d get a new middle name…like Kathrine…or Mary….and maybe Judaism has great holidays and such…but you observe them….anyway….and you’re not Jewish…I suggest you learn a few prayers in Hebrew…burn the white candles with Jesus on the cross….wear a rosary…don’t do much on Saturday or Sunday…..eat Kosher…but no meat on Friday….pray to whom ever and what ever works for you….call yourself a liberal Catholic practicing Judasim….and get a tattoo of the Virgin Mary….that way you have all of the bases covered….

So as I’ll change horses in midstream……..and end with another phase of what I’m thinking about…at this very moment….

I spent Sunday at a ghost town  in the middle of NOWHERE…the part that really affected me the most was the ambiance of the place…..there are maybe 20 houses with people in them….except none of these people I spoke with knew anything about anything…that was the first indicator that this could be the beginning of a horror film…second indicator was driving in a circle until I was able to speak to a guy that gave permission to go into the abandon buildings….but didn’t have the authority to do so….I was certain he was going to call the head of coven….tell him there were people coming up….and he and the rest of them  would be getting ready for the sacrifice….third indicator that this was a really bad horror movie was meeting the man in charge of  the….coven…I mean place…who looked like he had either been attacked by a large animal with really sharp big teeth…or was one of the living dead….I was confident the car would not start…the occupants of the town would all be lumbering slowly towards the stalled automobile …wearing black hooded outfits…chanting some monotone…chants….with completely white eyes…and the fun was just beginning …we had seen too much…knew too much…could not be let back into the real world….a quick flash forward a year….and I’d be living in one of the houses….wearing a checkered shirt…with pearl snaps…sort of lobotomized….squint a great deal in the light….no real inflection in my voice….I’d be….one of them….just waiting for the next family in an older station wagon to wander up the wrong road….and wonder if it was OK to turn left at the locked gate……”of course it is” I’d say…in this breathy whisper…..”Just be careful….see you soon” Needless to say the car started…the headman was very pleasant….no black robes or sacrificial pyres…..and all went well…here some photos of the place……

sunday-011950’s Type Building

sunday-02Light Fixture with Birds Nest

sunday-03Ball return at the “Bowling Lanes”

sunday-04Swimming Pool

sunday-05Movie Theater

sunday-06Men’s Room Urinal

I will admitt…..I did feel a sense of relief when I saw the place in the rearview mirror……

2 thoughts on “Tuesday…October 27th…Mars wants a new religion….and photos of a ghost town….

  1. ok… the ghost town sounds fabulous.. especially in your re-telling of it. Course, the dead critter is a bit disturbing…..

    Tell Mars to hang in there… the right choice will come 🙂

    Like

  2. OK… I LOVE the pic of the decomposing cat and you. I have been close-to-obssessed with decomposing animals and obituaries ever since I can remember. Not popular, perhaps, but fascinating. Decomposition is a statement to which none other can compare. Love the story. It reminds me of a movie we just watched about a guy making a movie called “Coven”. Too funny 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

