Saturday October 31st….Happy Halloween…..may the holiday turn your hair….bone white….unless of course you’re coloring your hair….

where-halloween-starts

“Where halloween begins” 2009

so tonight the monsters and ghouls will flood the street…I am looking forward to that…I have asked all of my students what they are going to dress up tonight as…the concensus is a ninja or a zombie…a princess or karate student….that’s an easy costume….they already have the uniform…I went to a party yesterday for my painting students…wow…was it exciting…I love to see the enthusiasm and the thrill they all have when they are involved in something they like…a few were witches…one was Michael Jackson…another superman….Cher was there….Freddie Kruger…an angel…one went as herself….she kept telling me “Halloween is for kids….not big people like me”…..they all seemed to have fun…and that is what counts….they are very special people all the way around….and regardless of what they are capable of doing….they have skills and abilities far beyond my reach….

I thought of Halloween when I was a child….the night was always crisp…my best friend and I would get ready and meet at his house with 4 other boys…so his mother could take pictures of us…I always carried a striped pillow case….things were safe then…sure there were the stories of poison and razor blades…but they were more legends than truths….we would go to every house with the porch light on in a 5 block radius…our turf…the places we knew like rats….at the end of the evening we’d go to our spot in the desert….high on a white kalichi hill and make a fire….look over the city and eat candy and talk…talk about the things that seemed so far away….the lives ahead of us….what we thought of the new girl on the block…the red head with the braces….would we kiss her…or not…our shadows danced around the flame…..I’d go home smelling of fire….dump my candy into a large glass bowl…..sort through it…see what was the best candy left…my brother always went for the chocolate….his achilles heel…I’d smell my hands when I was in bed….smell the wood fire smell….the dust from the ground…..maybe that waxy unfamiliar smell of makeup….I’d replay the film and fall asleep….

I was fortunate to live where I did….in the time that I did….where the evils of the world were either not talked about or they just mostly passed us by….I had encounters with evil then…I was lucky to have been a faster….or more clever….or knew a short cut out of a place….but they were indeed there…and on the border….desperation was fragrant like a field of flowers… everyone could smell….so we became aware….knew what to look for….when to walk when to freeze…in place and just wait….listen until it was gone…..we were fawns….fragile yet willing…..knew the terrain… where all of the “stops” were….where all of the “go’s”….started…the places we could just disappear….from thin air….when I look back it was a world we made….places that you moved the rusted metal sheet…there was a hole to hide in…..behind the bush was place to crawl into…..against the concrete….where it was safe….where you could hear them talking…wondering where we’d gone….I’d cover….my friends mouth to keep him from laughing….cover mine too…..  that was the real Halloween….our costumes were shorts and t-shirts in summer….jeans and flannel shirts in winter….. we were the rulers of the plains…the masters of the desert….

tonight…while  at home…I will wonder where those boys went…what has become of them….and their world…..

Have a safe and ghoulish halloween………

One thought on “Saturday October 31st….Happy Halloween…..may the holiday turn your hair….bone white….unless of course you’re coloring your hair….

Leave a Reply

