Monday…November 2nd…The Dead….truly can dance…..oh yes they can!!!!

dod.o6

“An Ending and Beginning” 2009

El Dia De Los Muertos Parade and party in the South Valley…a spectacular event….I have lived here for decades…and this was the first visit….certainly not the last…

started me thinking about our view of death…death of anything….seems death is the end….the end with a negative twist to it…where as life is the celebration of things to come….a road ahead…this applies to situations as well…things end in our lives…things begin in our lives…every aspect of what happens to us…about us…around us…inside of us….is refllected…in the world we live in…..

people die each day…people are born each day…we view each as a very different event when in reality they are similar….and are each necessary for the other to exist…birth says “There lies ahead me”…death…”It is all behind me”….yet each event celebrates “The Life” exclusively…..may be one yet lived….or one lived to the end …but life….

I ended up at a party celebrating this day….there was an altar in honor of the host and hostess’  lost friends….a tribute to each of them….a special place in honor of who they were to them….it was very nice….sort of revealing….and made me want to ask questions….but I’m new to this so I thought them instead…there was mole with pork and chicken…tamales with mushrooms….olives…chicken and green chile….red enchiladas…flan…and a chocolate pecan pie….I would certainly die for….

when it was all over and I was home….I reflected on the whole afternoon of events….thought of those who are no longer in my life…whether they have literally died or they are alive yet no longer in my life……and realized they are part of me now and will be a part of me forever….and in that there is something very gratifying…knowing…maybe I can’t reach out and touch them any longer….yet I do have a small piece of them…that I will treasure and cherish….

then it came to me…how can someone who was in my life no longer be in my life….they will always be in my life…..maybe not close enough to hit with a spit wad….or be able to pull their hair….but….hey……

viva el dia de los muertos……….

2 thoughts on “Monday…November 2nd…The Dead….truly can dance…..oh yes they can!!!!

  1. Wonderful post!!! I’m of the mind, these days, to think that there is no such thing as death. Only change. Incredible photograph, I love it!

    Like

  2. I was at the parade… my 2nd year… absolutely loved it. To me.. it signifies that death is not to be feared at all. It is just a “going home”.. a change…but not the end. DDLM is a celebration of the life lived…

    yes, a party 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

