Friday…November 6th…Channeling Willa Cather….Tom Cochrane…and Caravaggio….since 1991

one day left in babylon

“One day Left in Babylon” 2009

“Fall seven times, stand up eight.” Japanese Proverb

today is a go day….much to do with a wonderful conclusion…already built into the story…tonight is the last showing of my paintings I am going to do for a while here in New Mexico….I have many good reasons…enough so that I am very comfortable with my decision…

I have found art is an interesting beast…there are many facets to the profession…some I am excited about…others I am not…as an artist…my job really is to paint…nothing more….yet in that statement “Nothing more” exists a great deal more…..more than I am wanting at this juncture of my career…so rather than embrace it…I choose to take a small hiatus from it…figure out a way I….perhaps may bypass all of the unfortunate junk that goes with the label “Artist”…as there are many  methods and ways of being a successful painter….

defining success is the pool I have been swimming in…is it money…notariaty…..fame…best gallery representation…it may be all of these as well as none of these…each of us as artists must define what we call success and what success looks like…to us…in order to attain it or not….the career “Artist” is an interesting job title….it is broad reaching…has a universal definition…yet no solid…envelope to put one’s qualifications into…that the world says…”You are an artist”….it is all proven by one thing….and one thing exclusivly…”THE WORK”

the work and the committment are what matter…outside of that…the rest is a waste of time….I think of the conversations I’ve had with my mentors…and they all say the same thing…just keep painting…no matter what….this goes back to the book….”The Outliers” by Malcom Gladwell…he says mastery comes at somewhere around the 10,000 hour mark….I’ve a friend that tells me the first 10,000 pots are just practice…10,001….is when things start happening…..I like that mentality….because it truly does separate the artists…from the rest…..

I have a great deal of respect for these older painters…the ones who remind me of older karate ka…who have painted for such a long time…they don’t think about it….it is to them as breathing is to the rest of the planet….they are the work….

my  art show is tonight at DreamScape Gallery  on 5th street and Bellamah from 5:30-8:30…I hope to see you there….there about 12 paintings ranging from small paintings on paper….to a fewin the 4 foot range…I will also have some newer jewelry I’ve been working on….

what lies ahead…though unknown will be revealed…and as the lovely Willa Cather once said…”Art, it seems to me, should simplify”….see you soon….

2 thoughts on “Friday…November 6th…Channeling Willa Cather….Tom Cochrane…and Caravaggio….since 1991

    • hi this is me leaving a comment on your blog……i have pyjamas with red and orange rabbits on them and am drinking sugar free hot chocolate and livin the life…….love the blog and am very proud of you and your beautiful show.your paintings never fail to inspire and your jewelrey was fabulous….yay for you for all of it !!!!!!!! xoxo mars

      Like

Leave a Reply

