Saturday November 7th….Saturday…..a great a day to spend with My boy M.I.C.K.E.Y

dod.08

“Deceased Couple” 2009

“Chance favors the prepared mind.” ~ Louis Pasteur

a Saturday…like no other…ever….a unique fingerprint….a way of listening without hearing….a sound….quiet…quiet…quiet…old dogs never leave the porch…as far as I know…or at least that’s what it said in the “Old Dog manual”…page 61…..it’s like that one green leaf…there…somehow…didn’t get the message….or that lone duck flying north…November 25th….making waves…causing big ripples…on the small picture….just like the one grammy ono has…of those naked black children….from somewhere in Africa…the ones with fruit…and flowers…you know…they wear them like clothes…with the painted white and rust colored dots….on their faces….rimmed in those beautiful branches….she said she cried when she saw the pictures….and she said she had the book….and she asked where they were from….I said Detroit….but I knew they wouldn’t believe me….it was way to cold for that…..far up north where that big lake lives…..

I couldn’t shake the feeling….it was stapled to me…was why…..and each time I shook…it hurt…but 3 aspirin..an 8oz glass of water…and some rest was going to make removing the staples…painless…the drive there would be light….clear light….not knowing if the rooms were air conditioned…or heated…and I guess it really depended on if I wore everything….or nothing….that mattered…so they dealt the cards…I picked up the ones I wanted…really the ones that looked like the other ones…but different….in way that special glasses were required…always…always…always…never look at the glowing glob without the special glasses….I didn’t say that…the big sign above where the glowing glob is says that…and the reason I guess is clear…or unclear without the glasses….it’s those candy colors that are still left in the trees…at the park…by my house…in the city….the ones I need to lay down on the ground…cover myself with a few leaves and…take the photo…the one for posterity’s sake….

when it died….I will admit I was releaved….there was never going to be chances again…and knowing that was the icing…not on the cake…but still in the large…red colored bowl with the white insides…that was as close to the cake as it mattered….and no matter what they played …or sang if they Arias….there was going to be a deep quiet….one that had that tomb door sound…thick slate….steel…and all of the water birds…would fly overhead…making those screeching noises….oblivious to the dark sounds…within…. but we were freed…just a  boat with some wooden things some guy called oars…that made little sense…since we were…a few miles inland….and the ocean smell was long gone from the clothes I wore a few years ago…they called her Mary because she didn’t like her really…name…I think it was Marilyn….or something close to Mary…she just wanted change…a way to write with her other hand…but still be readable….and I guess….we all wanted that…it was just difficult to voice our ideas….when the waves crashed so noisily on the rocks……there where those rusted car parts were…..

a Saturday…like no other….I spilled the water from the thermos…watched it puddle on the floor….today….is going to be just fine…….

Leave a Reply

