Tuesday…November 17th…Hey it’s another Art Tuesday….Holy #$@%…..what a F$%#@&!…. treat….

“Sold American” 2009

“We know too much and feel too little. At least, we feel too little of those creative emotions from which a good life springs.” – Bertrand Russell

Well…another Art Tuesday has arrived….oh my…I chose three of my favorite historical painters and three of my favorite paintings from each…each of the paintings is truly about emotion…draws deep the feeling of fear…defeat…anguish….joy…happiness…playfullness…in each of the paintings…there are consequences…and each story in my mind continues..i’d live to be able to turn the page and see what happens next…I hope you enjoy these….as I do….

Eugène Delacroix. The Massacre of Chios

Delacroix shows a true sense of defeat…there is nothing more…nothing left except what remains from the conquerers…I love the level of an ending…how things are going to chnage and change really fast….

Artemisia Gentileschi, Judith Slaying Holofernes

One of my all time favorite painters and paintings…Artemisia Gentileschi shows a beheading…that seems so “Let’s get this done”….sort of  caption…I really enjoy the look on both of the women’s faces…they seem calm…composed…almost as if they have done this a few times before….there is an emotional rawness for me that seems to come forth…doesn’t make me uncomfortable…or concerned about the end result for Holofernes…as it seems pretty obvious….more I want to know if the women talked about this the next morning over tea….

Caravaggio, Amor Vincit Omnia

Caravaggio typically used street urchins for his models…he used dead prostitutes….the homeless and down troden to make such beautiful paintings…usually there is something that indicates the model is homeless or an urchin…perhaps…sunburned hands…or a dirty neck…this boy seems very happy to be who he is portraying…I suspect that the wings on the model  have some how become real…and if I knew the rest of the story…he would have flown away…to some other town….

3 thoughts on “Tuesday…November 17th…Hey it’s another Art Tuesday….Holy #$@%…..what a F$%#@&!…. treat….

  1. It’s interesting how in “Judith Slaying Holofernes” the blade she’s using looks transparent. That’s what grabbed me first. Then of course the facial expressions, which seem to indicate they’ve got this nuisance all under control, no worries.

    I like the light coming through the colors in Delacroix’s piece. Whenever I see Delacroix, I think of Van Gogh.

    Caravaggio’s painting is beautiful, the colors and softness. It’s a sanctuary painting, a place where the child is free from harm and ugliness. Transcedence 🙂

    Like

  2. I absolutely love Gentileschi and Caravaggio .. their choice of colors, hues, contrasts.. everything is perfect for me. More importantly, I love how the artist’s caught the raw emotions of the subjects. Pure resignation in one, pure joy in the other. As for Delacroix, I don’t know his work at all… and am not horribly fond of the painting shown here… just my personaly preference I guess.
    Thank you for another wonderful post ( and I love your photo )

    Like

Leave a Reply

