Saturday….November 21…I’ts Saturday….wake up sleepy heads…time to get busy….on getting busy….

“Vacancy” 2009

“If you take big paces you leave big spaces” – Burmese Proverb

the dryer was spinning its usual sound…somewhere between a high pitched dog wihistle…and saying “Harry” in a muffled sort of catacomb sound repeatedly at each large turn…..I was boiling water…for the bubbles…and the heat…but they…they had the door locked…making plans…or maybe they were playing with the bag of shiny green army men they took from the Gunning Castelle…store…sometime around 1963…either way there was something brewing…I just couldn’t figure out the smell at that second….

I asked for the left-handed scissors…repeatedly….cutting with the right-handed ones in my left hand was driving on the wrong side of the road….kind of fishing without the tools…the hooks you know…the long pole sort of thing…it was vicious…there at the gates…they just stood there looking…wondering what was taking so long to produce so little….like “Tic Tacs” for dinner…hard to get excited about a few little white things…and call it tasty…or flavorful…worse though she handed us all a stack of papers…ones she’d signed…with a blue pen….thinking we’d be swayed be her attempt at perfecting her autograph….she was practicing for her “Big Day”…that one in front of the hotel there in Odessa…where they were married…I slept with the Bridesmaid that night…it was a vodka drinking time for me…sort of a movie with out the sound or picture…so I had to figure how it all was by how it wasn’t….

so the numbers kept ticking….by….I was nervous thinking they meant the last few seconds on the planet….were close at hand…when she reminded me I’d won…my card matched the ticking numbers….the choices were obvious….she motioned to the section where winners like me could choose the brightly colored animals…with their striped scarves….I’d wished they real…though….a living breathing pet…or maybe a room full of platypus’…little water lilies in the garden by the tub….I’d call it “Eden or Not”…..just in case God really existed….that way I could show him…at least I tried when I wasn’t certain….and if he didn’t…I knew a girl named Eden…she was a topless dancer…her real name was Crystal….she had a few stretch marks from having a baby when she was 16…but…her name was still “Eden” in my mind….and I might have named the whole thing after her….

it was a sky full of lights…little bright stars…so we sat down and gave 3,976 of them names…..names we could remember just in case we were asked….we knew…and knowing was what counted in those days when prices were high and everything else seemed to be an exclamation mark on our page….she tired of the nightly conversation of the statues….how we examined each part from the very beginning….seemed no end was in sight for her…so by the grace of some intervention…a few quick shots of courage…and a guy with some navy tattoos….she called Earl some days and Dave other days…she moved forward…said it wasn’t me or her….it was  really more about….she needed a different time zone…a place where it was earlier than where she was…I suggested California…they’d already decided Tinian…..she was looking for the place where it starts….and who could blame her…the headwaters of the time space contuinum….that’s like the inventor of Oreos…for God sake….

I watched the pump go up….the pump go down…counted it a few times just to make certain things were sequential….and had that rhythm I liked….one that was sort of bluesy….not to slow that it cramped my feet when I wore those two toned shoes…..so it was the days of whisteling….any song that entered my mind…sort of a really bad Muzak…that was nothing but whisteling….one you could hardly eat pie to…or heaven forbid a giant meal with the whole family all wearing their….Sunday clothes…hoping some guy doesn’t come up to the table and says…”Excuse me….I can’t take it anymore”…. and blows his brains out….that kind of whisteling….sort of a “Be careful” kind of whistling…has an unpredictable edge to it….I guess I’d think twice before….getting into the whistling posture….if it was me…..

Leave a Reply

