Monday…November 23rd…All this time I was here thinking…I was there…or there thinking I was….here…and it was a split second….

“Going Nowhere”, Lost Horizon, 2009

“Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything” – George Bernard Shaw

I was thinking this morning….what it takes to get “There”…all of us have a “There”…we can kind of describe…explain how it feels…what parts of it may look like….and we may be living some of the steps leading to it…but “There”…is probably more elusive than we may think…the pursuit in itself…always keeps it…just out of reach…a few fingertips aways…so then maybe getting close to “There” might be good enough?…or does it have to be the “X” that marks the spot?

I think “There” is the ideal…”Here” becomes the real….and it is what we do with “Here”…. that makes “There”…as close to possible and attainable as possible…our futures are altered by what we do now…with a few unknown exception right now…planning for something yet expecting a different result in the future just doesn’t make sense…wanting to be something …yet  being unwilling…to work at the essence of  that something is unrealistic….some  call them goals…but I think becoming something….arriving at someplace cannot be a goal….it can only be part of a larger goal….that which is in constant flux….a series of negotiation and renegotiation for the “Ideal”, (There) from the “Real”, (Here)…

because the arrival to “There”… never happens…..it never will…”There” becomes the reason to travel….to change…to elevate…descend…. reshape….rebuild…redesign….take everything back to the basics for a different look at what “There” now really means…and start the process over again…we are constantly redoing the pursuit…..changing the method of approach…assault….attack….to get something that is not getable…..yet we still try….

“Here”…the “Real”….is the hive….all the bees come to this hive…because this is where the hive is ….figuratively…literally…grographically….until it changes….and the hive moves a few steps closer to….”There”…..without “There” being the destination….

I recall when I was younger…I’d get an idea that “There” was the answer…the solution…the cure-all…the best of the best….everyrthing that was…was “There”…and I’d load everything I owned into my truck and move….to “There”….knowing I’d find every bit of what I was searching for…. after a few dozen of these sort of moves…I realized…I was the answer….my problem though…was that I was not the question as well as the answer at that time in my life….and just having answers can’t make you the winner on Jeopardy…

it has taken many years to know that I am the questions and answers…most of the time…I discovered…that my pursuit of….”There”still comes from “Here”…which is where I am and have always been….and I don’t have any great desire to get “There”…because then what….is it a cliff edge…or a vast desert in front of me…or maybe a sea of ice…..and what I thought “There” was may not be remotely close to what it is….

so talking to myself seems a normal function of the day…because I’m really just asking and answering questions….not just the easy ones…..

2 thoughts on “Monday…November 23rd…All this time I was here thinking…I was there…or there thinking I was….here…and it was a split second….

  1. I love “here” … especially because of the glimpses into “there.”
    I do believe that the travel is more important most of the time.. than the destination itself….So… I hear ya… on “here”…

    On an aside.. I think I remember seeing those steps from the train ??

    ANd the video is great 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

