Wednesday….November 25th…..the Search for Jack Kevorkian….begins…..and I could do a lot more if I had a pencil thin mustache….I know I could….

“The Beginning of Something Surreal”, 2009

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

maybe around that corner…I thought…but thinking and driving at high rates of speed are kind of hand and glove…generally it’s the road and what a small mistake might look like at “Fast”…I ordered the French toast…yet she didn’t appear French…and my suspicion was the guy making the toast from France…couldn’t find it on a map…not toast…but France…I’ve always wanted to go to Toast…nestled between Andora…Spain and France…but I’ve never been invited….and I hear it’s not a real place….that’s the difficult part to believe…I’ve heard if you can think it …then it’s possible…so much for Ziegler getting an x-mas card this year…..I’ll send toast instead….

we were young boys…playing in an inflatable light blue swimming pool…the family was British….had cats from all over the world…and she didn’t shave her legs…always wore an apron…but never cooked…I knew the house didn’t have a basement but I was certain there was something going on that required a basement…so could you build a basement after the house was built…..he farted in the pool….we laughed until he farted again….but I knew there was much more to this than British people…farting…white skinned kids….and a cat from someplace I’d never heard of….she made bacon and egg pie that afternoon…I threw up later that afternoon…had to call in sick from summer school and the “Sisters of absolutely no mercy” were pissed…that was ok though…I’d act sick…pour a full glass of water down the toilet and cough a lot…..while water met water…I couldn’t puke like that if I wanted to…not even as an adult alcoholic……I was on of the lucky ones….

it was traveling day…a quick trip to the dentists…doctor…get a small series of test…fast for a few hours…and I was on the road….eating chips straight from the bag…drinking milk from the carton…praying a few stops along the way and before long I’d be where I had no idea I was headed…it’s that driving with the bag over my head that makes it work….you just never know….I could write volumes or in Texas the word would be completely different…Vol- YUMES….. and they’d all get it…..except what vol-YUMES really meant…most would think it had to do with weather…or maybe a car part on one of them BeemW’s….or maybe it was a new president in some country….”Over there”…and they’d point in some NNE direction..thinking that answered it……but it was the quantity that mattered….not the quality in this case….I’d been opposed to the idea of Q vs Q…but somedays…things just have to come out and be what they’re going to be….so I drew a line and waited…..

I didn’t know certain things were possible at that age…..they lead me by that invisible hand…that one clamped around my wrist….most of my life then…it was try this…even though I know you’re not going to like it…you’ll like the blue better than the red….these are much nicer than those….it was that dialogue that pressed against the glass most of the day…left a few little water droplets there that slowly slid ….to the bottom…kept the black soil black….maybe the color was in the drops…I didn’t know….that’s when bridges were flat…money spent a whole lot differently…and I pushed the Black and Decker electric mower on the weekends….made things work that really didn’t need to work then…because they weren’t supposed to…sure I peeked into a few open windows….saw a few things a boy my age shouldn’t have….but it was there like fruit on the plum tree…had to do it at night though then….just asking for it was no fun…it had to be in the alleys…the dark places where everything was pretty uncertain…where a young boy could hold a drink in his hand….be a cowboy for a few hours…..”play the blues and the ballads….and all that came between”…..

One thought on “Wednesday….November 25th…..the Search for Jack Kevorkian….begins…..and I could do a lot more if I had a pencil thin mustache….I know I could….

  1. first of all.. the photo is perfect.. simply perfect. The video is fab.. haven’t listened to Jimmy Buffett in way too long….

    and— “Sisters of absolutely no mercy” were pissed— is just the BEST>

    Like

Leave a Reply

