Tuesday…December 1st….I know…another Art Tuesday….hard to believe….

So here we are…another Tuesday full of Art…since there is so much art out there…the level of difficulty in locating what is called “Good Art”… rather than “Refrigerator Art”…. sometimes pushes the edge…I don’t for one moment think or want you to think I am a connoisseur of fine art….I know what I like…and what I don’t…I tend to look for technical skills…the understanding and aptitude in the taught cannons….rather than the self proclaimed…..I understand the importance of continual study…critique…and constant conversation….so my choices on “Art Tuesday” are generally from professionally trained….educated…active professional artists that take what they do very seriously…that being said…I’m not taking anything away from those with natural talent nor the intrinsic ability to be artistic….

Today I chose 3 contemporary artists that are all showing at Art Basel, Miami this week…..www.artbaselmiamibeach.com/each is very unique in style and delivery….I hope you enjoy the work…..

George Grosz

This painting has a cartoon sort of feel to me, very animated, festive but chaotic…seems like there is so much going on for my OCD to handle….but I like it…

sort of Great Gatsby meets 2010….I love the perspective and how everything is tweaked in a way that makes me try to fix it in my mind…I also really enjoy all of the little things that make the painting very interesting….

David Salle

there is a great level of unknown for me in this painting….I keep wondering what is happening….how did things get to this point…very engaging…!!!

again…a great deal of information…seems like a story that takes up in the middle or someplace other than the beginning…I like the notion of not knowing what has happened or what is going to happen

Leiko Ikemura

I was initially bothered by the painting… yet the more I looked at it…what was removed was the bothersome nature of the work…I found myself looking at all of the pieces that make the work…work…her right knee…the rabbit’s tail…her expression…right hand positioning…I think the work is brilliant…

I love the blur…the idea that it is a figure to me…but maybe not the original intention…the work is nebulous….unclear but…makes perfect sense to me….

I hope you enjoyed these paintings….they are certainly different and where the art market lives today….I like all of these works…but have to say I prefer Leiko Ikemura’s paintings over the rest…..let me know what you think….

One thought on “Tuesday…December 1st….I know…another Art Tuesday….hard to believe….

Leave a Reply

