Tuesday….December 8th…It’s….AAAARRRRTTTT…Tuesday……

“Reflection #1” 2009

“A dream that is not interpreted is like a letter that is not opened” – Sigmund Freud

Today is “SURREAL” day…not only in the literal sense..furgurative sense as well as what’s going on in my mind….something about the wind maybe…who knows….here are the works of 3 of the better known Representational Surrealists, Dali, Magritte, and Ernst…..

Surrealism means….””Above Reality”…based on the idea that there is an element of pure truth revealed by our subconscious minds…that far supersedes our everyday reality….There are 2 schools of Surrealism…Representational Surrealism and Abstract Surrealism, both derive much of  their influence from two Renaissance painters in particular who are thought to be the beginnings of Surrealism. Both Hieronymus Bosch and Pieter Brueghel painted very fantastic and dreamlike paintings, and can easily be described as surreal. Modern Surrealism began as a movement at the end of the first World War…with its focus on psychological states, dreams and fantasy. I hope you enjoy these paintings….

SALVADOR DALI

Not one of my Dali favorites….but certainly defines Surrealism and has sort of a Renaissance feel in some weird way…


“The Temptation of St. Anthony”…by far one of my favorites…..I’ve never had a clue about this painting…yet it just draws me into it with the activity…the unknown…every aspect of the painting has a grip at my throat…

Rene Magritte

“The Lovers”…is again one of my favorites….love truly is blind…

Brilliant painting….the whole idea of half woman half fish…beached….with an obvious end result…makes the scenery very real and “could happen” sort of thought…

Max Ernst

Ernst…is very fantasy like for me…full of gardens…serenity…peacefulness…and a true feeling of relaxation….

Such a wonderful and beautiful painting…I enjoy how all of the interaction and focus is behind the painting…in the reflection…where often what is there may be slightly out of focus…untrue but truthful….

I think Surrealism is like a martini….you either like it from the beginning…or it takes some time to develop a taste for it…or it just doesn’t work…my issue with surrealism has always been my inability to look without wanting to know more….the more I look at surreal paintings these days…the more I can appreciate them and see  there is an element that says just enjoy what is right here at this moment…no prediction…or decisions…it is what it is….and in that is some greater understanding that what the artist’s intention is…may not be revealed to me…today…tomorrow…or next month…let me know what you think of the work…I’m curious…..

3 thoughts on “Tuesday….December 8th…It’s….AAAARRRRTTTT…Tuesday……

  1. adore the photo. Genius.

    “I think Surrealism is like a martini….you either like it from the beginning…or it takes some time to develop a taste for it…”

    I don’t think I’m there yet with surrealism… haven’t developed a taste for it yet….

    Like

Leave a Reply

