Monday…December 21st….there’s a lot more to Christmas than a 1956 Panhead…that’s all chopped up…..Happy birthday J.C……

“??????” 2009

“There is an old illusion-it is called good and evil” – F. Neitzsche

I guess as a child…..I missed that part….I thought he was a carpenter…or a fisherman…..but Dad said he was a used car salesman…down at the lot there on Montana and Airways…where they were building that new high-rise hotel….right across the street….he always wore those suits that said “Car salesman”…..really “Used car salesman”and they were in those different languages like the Avis car buttons in the 1960’s….”We Try Harder”….I never could figure out why trying harder in Hindi would make a difference in a place  like say….San Angelo Texas….where Hindi…was as unusual as a woman working in 1963….I mean if she worked…he…(meaning Daddy) had to be a real somebitch…one of those men that just didn’t see things right….maybe drank a little too much to keep the house going….but it was hair cuts and shoe shines on Wednesday….crossing the Zaragoza bridge….was a coming of age event for me….I never wore wing tip shoes….but on Wednesday….and as dreadful as the adventure was….I could always look forward to seeing her cleavage…every Wednesday night…when she shaved each side of my head with a straight razor and hot lather from the white cup….seemed pretty lame for 52 haircuts a year…a least maybe a breast every now and again would have changed up a regular Wednesday night into a much more memorable Wednesday night….but I heard them talk about fighting the war all of again….and how the “Navy Pussies”…really should have stepped back and let the real “Ass kickers” step up…..

I never wanted to do it all over again…so I didn’t…didn’t think about once….maybe not even twice….but the third time I was certain I would never think about again…until I…did…..

I washed them from my hands like soapy water…let them go….and I don’t care what they do…or how they do it….at least now….no more late night calls wanting a ride form the bus station…or a few dollars for food when they really want cigarettes….

Leave a Reply

