Tuesday…December 22nd…Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art…Tuesday

“Hanging” 2009

“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem. and smarter than you think.” – Christopher Robin to Pooh

Another Art Tuesday…already…today I thought we’d look at a few works by installation artist Andrew Goldsworthy….  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Goldsworthy

Andrew Goldsworthy’s work is exceptional as it has a life expectency….there is something about art that won’t last…..perhaps it may survive a few days…or just minutes…and in that notion is the idea that attachment is non-existent…has no place…as artists we always think of what is and isn’t “Archival”…in Goldsworthy’s case there is no such word….please enjoy these works and let me know what you think….

Branches on a pond…that create an incredible reflection of completion….

A person laid down on the rocks while it rained….here is their rain shadow of sorts

a leaf covered rock

different colored stones assembled

the entrance to the De Young Museum in San Francisco…..I was at the De Young…and over heard a woman as she pointed out the cracks….in the floor…she said…”See they have had enough earthquakes here….they’ve cracked the floor”….

Again the temporary mentality of Andrew Goldsworthy’s work is really something wonderful…of course anybody could cover a rock with leaves…or lay down on gravel when it rains..I see this type of work as memory development…maybe the structure has long disappeared…but somewhere in the minds of those that help build it…and those that saw the work in various stages of construction…and destruction…have their own personal image of the piece and what it was to them…a painting or sculpture are devices that can be revisited….studied…explored…investigated…for years picked a part yet it still remains the original…I hope you enjoyed these…..have   a great day…..

2 thoughts on “Tuesday…December 22nd…Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art Art…Tuesday

  1. Oh my goodness, Robert. I love Andy’s work like I love to breathe fresh air. He wildly inspires me. I think about him often. I thought of him today. Walking in the bosque reminds me of him.

    Thank you for posting on him!

    I wish, just once, that I could go to an art museum with you-or any museum, for that matter. That would be something I would always remember and treasure.

    Something I love about Andy’s pieces is that they are always changing, unlike a finished painting. And so there is a continual interaction happening in the environment and I like to imagine that long after the piece has decomposed into other forms of energy, the original intent has become part of the spirits of place.

    Thank you again for this post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

