Wednesday….December 30th….2009 winding down….and it’s looking like blue skies ahead….

“Does he look like me?” Will and me, Oakridge, 2009

“No man on his death bed ever looked up into the eyes of his family and friends and said,”I wish I’d spent more time at the office” – Unknown

there is something about reconnection….be it with family…friends…self…or with those things that we hold private…and close to our hearts…perhaps because I am on the other side of my life…I can see the importance of making certain those that I connect with….know clearly….that  being a part of their world and wanting them to be a part of mine is the intention….their really is a wonderful moment when people realize they are part of something…they belong…they don’t really need to ring the doorbell any longer…it’s like dating…when you have the key to her house and she has your key…it sort of solidifies the bond….and her serial killer worries…your “Fatal attraction” concerns…are faded if not long gone….but being part of anything that makes us smile…makes us a part of the intricate life puzzle…certainly is the reward….for being…there….being open to the opportunity….

most of my life I spent kicking dirt around…staring mostly at my feet…worried about was what I was saying coming out clearly or….did it sound like I had a handful of beans in my mouth and I was asking serious questions about…things that most people couldn’t answer….after a few tons of dirt kicking and realizing that we all get to where we belong… via our particular path…be it a series of small catastrophies….or whatever method…the car arrives to the curb and we are pushed out….of it….we do arrive….maybe better for the trip…or perhaps…not…but we still nevertheless…arrive….my journeies were for the most part…solo…and after experiencing many wonderful…events…places…people….and experiences…I can reflect back and truly say I enjoyed myself….but from this place forward…my dirt kicking….staring at the ground….days are long over with….

my sense these days is about connection…alignment…and the ability to find those in my world that…get what I mean….and I…what they mean…I don’t  want to have to convince anybody of anything….or try and make them see what I want them to see….a dear friend of mine….gave me a great piece of advice…he said …”Choose who you want to run with”…I’ve taken that to heart…we are a reflection of those we connect with…they are a part of the family we create…the family we build…they are the people we can rely…on when it gets thick….

in every painting I’ve ever seen there is a common element…that element is small bits of information…that make the whole painting…without some of that information the painting’s personality becomes different…less or more…I don’t know…too much of the information and the painting is a study of the small information…too little information and the painting lacks…struggles for something else…when the perfect amount of information exists…the painting’s story is revealed….told in a way that may or may not be the artist’s intention….but a tale has unfolded….begun its life…will intertwine with others in their lives…become a part of them….and move silently from person to place to person….it acquires….fans…..lovers….friends……family…. until it no longer does….much like us it has a life cycle….a painting without provenance…..is a person without family…..

2 thoughts on “Wednesday….December 30th….2009 winding down….and it’s looking like blue skies ahead….

Leave a Reply

