Tuesday…January 5th….No Art Tuesday Today….because it’s an exception….and I’m A-O-Kay with that

“Andy’s Trees” 2010

Killing yourself is a major commitment, it takes a kind of courage. Most people just lead lives of cowardly desperation. It’s kinda half suicide where you just dull yourself with substances. – Robert Crumb

sometimes it takes a few tries before I realize that some things are just not meant to happen….and this morning that lesson again became very obvious….and reminded me that when the waves come in….I go with them..not against them….seems pretty logical…yet sometimes the idea that I am different…I am the exception…always appears and says…”c’mon…it’s only a few hundred thousand metric tons of water…what are you afraid of????….I don’t think it’s fear…I go back to that word….”Exception” the dictionary defines “Exception” as….”something excepted; an instance or case not conforming to the general rule.do I not conform to the general rule…I drive the speed limit most of the time, I don’t steal…haven’t done anything that would land me in prison…I pay taxes…..so I guess just based on the minor Q&A….I do conform…but maybe it’s not all of the time….and perhaps when I think I am the exception…..just the idea of me conciously wanting to be the exception….puts me into a dull gray suit…with a bland tie…black wingtips…and absolutely nothing exceptional….thus becoming no exception at all…yet when I am just who I am…I become exceptional…just like you do….when we try to be something for other reasons than we just are….maybe that’s…where the combination to the safe is missing that one crucial number….

I’ve studied martial arts enough to know that everything works in combination with everything else….not against it…and when we apply that thinking to everyday living…and remove ourselves as the exception….and become what we are for what we are….we than become the exception….whew!!!!…I’m not meaning a philisophical discourse…on the nature of being or not…but fundemantally I see myself as a light switch…some days I’m on …other days I’m off…and there are those days…I am on and off…throughout the day….it is just the way the switch moves….I’ve had weeks where I have been on…and weeks where I have been off…and paid dearly for both….

we are unique to everyone around us…..we have all the traits that make us more dissimilar than similar to someone else…but we also have enough of the similarities that define our exceptional qualities….and the exceptions we are…when we are….I guess through all of this remains the idea of staying true to ourselves….because when we are just ourselves…with no frosting…glitter…or artificial flavors….we are always an exception…..

3 thoughts on “Tuesday…January 5th….No Art Tuesday Today….because it’s an exception….and I’m A-O-Kay with that

  1. I like you frostless and without glitter and sequins. I like you with southern Rockies dust behind your ears. I like you with sun squinting in your eyes. I like the way you smile and laugh. I like you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

