Wednesday…January 6th….trash day…hump day……whatever day you want it to be….

“Salt Cedar” 2010

“Don’t mater how you do it, just do it like you know it” –  Jerry Jeff Walker

so it was trash day…every Wednesday was trash day…I was just having a difficult time putting all of my trash…into one day…I dreamed about her…and about him…and them…and him when he was older…..and a baseball field…and a Christmas party…and how they invited me to stay at their house…and I really didn’t even know them…I just knew she had vitiligo…made her skin look like a puppy’s belly…spotted slightly different colors….we’d been here many times is what he was trying to say…but it just never came out like that…more a bunch of words that said little if any…so there was no wonder he was a frustrated mid-life…struggling actor…never understood…yet saying the same thing over again…I suggested a “Big Cheif” tablet.. …he shook his head “No”…reminded him too much of the days we’d sit in front of the black and white television set…watch channel 8…at 3 pm…wait for the Lone Ranger and Tonto….I always wondered why they called him the “Masked Man”….and never called him “Lone” when they were talking to him…..it was sort of like the difference between a “Spire ‘ and a “Steeple”……the choices were close enough….but far enough away…that the boys who studied architecture….would sure laugh in your face if you called a steeple a spire and a spire…anything but a spire…it was all about the concreteness of things…how…fish only swim…dogs really only walk on 4 legs…unless of course you count “King”…the German Shepard down the street when I was a kid that only had 3 legs…and walked….but he made out ok….it was birds of a feather cliché thinking….those weird stories Grams would tell while she peeled yellow potatoes…and sometimes sang those marching songs from Yugoslavia…. and would laugh enough that her top teeth would fall out….and we’d all scream….like she lost a body part…or…something green or white came out of her…we were just kids…trying hard to stay kids….afraid that one day…we’d have to be like mom and dad….and wear those dull brown clothes…go away for the better part of the day…come home with new wrinkles…and old stories….so I’d pet the dog…act like a birthday was my cheap Timex watch on the silver flexible band…just stopping for a few months…and never really made myself any of those big boy promises…allowed me to catch up to the other fish in the stream….after all it was getting close to summer…and I could hardly wait…for the cicada sounds and the sun to burn me red like fruit……

it was late in the afternoon…the day of his birthday…I’d gotten him a gift…I really wanted to keep…a blue chameleon….in a box that looked like Chinese take out….in some loamy wet spongy black soil….he just laid there…nothing to do other than move an inch left…and 1 inch right….it was really a prison…not a thing different for the boy….is what he was afraid he’d hear someday soon…his mother was a topless dancr…in a club…by the base…she brought different men home all of the time….you could tell she was nothing during the day…kind of a ghost…that smoked menthol cigarettes…and poured something in her coffee…in the morning….she was two people…all the time….had a really raspy voice…and would ask me what I was staring at if I looked her way….made me nervous enough to trade walking for riding my red bicycle…with the big fenders and plastic light that didn’t work….he did go to jail…he kind of knew that’s what his cards had in for him….and he’d never come out…I was glad about that but also felt…wrong about that…he was born plain stupid…he knew that…so did topless dancer mom….she just didn’t care….

“The dog bit him right there in his face….right close to his eye….but more on his cheek….you should have seen the blood” he said….”it was so cool”……I always wanted a scar on my face….a big long one…like a dueling scar….but not on purpose…..I settled for a burn mark on my arm…instead…..

3 thoughts on “Wednesday…January 6th….trash day…hump day……whatever day you want it to be….

  1. This is a wonderful post, Robert. I love “I just knew she had vitiligo…made her skin look like a puppy’s belly…spotted slightly different colors…”

    The way you write is so descriptive and original! Like you’ve watched every detail all along the ride of Life. Brilliant. I read your posts and cary what I can learn into mine.

    I smiled all the way through this post. Wonderful.

    Like

  2. so sad..

    “he did go to jail…he kind of knew that’s what his cards had in for him….and he’d never come out…I was glad about that but also felt…wrong about that…he was born plain stupid…he knew that…so did topless dancer mom….she just didn’t care….”

    kind of like a self-fulfilling prophecy -no ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

