215. January 29th…Huis…Maison…Aom…Repouso….Haus….Casa…. “a place to hang your head”- Grocho Marx

“Cooking” 2010

“When you’re safe at home you wish you were having an adventure; when you’re having an adventure you wish you were safe at home” – Thorton Wilder

I know things are right in my world when the dish rack is filled with pots…pans….untensils…tongs…chopsticks….knives….etc…what it says..is…I’m spending a lot more time at home….working….and I like that…since I’ve moved home to paint and make jewelry…other than it being the best thing I’ve done in years. ..I have the opportunity to make meals as well as work…and what a treat that is…I’ve almost forgotten the last time I ate at a restaurant…and I’m okay with that….I’ve found for the money…no restaurant is going to cook as well as I do…for me…….

working at home has taken a little getting used too…but over the past month…I have really grown to like it….I have a schedule just like a job…I take a few breaks during the day….cook a great lunch…like yesterday…I had chicken Marsala for lunch…(made from scratch….)…I generally take my camera and walk in the neighborhood sometime in the afternoon….return and work until 6 maybe 7 and take the rest of the night off….if I get inspired….well…I don’t have far to go to see what inspiration has to say…..

I feel this is a really a wonderful way of working for myself….it gives me the latitude to do all the necessary stuff in the morning…contact possible venues to carry my work…search the internet for galleries…shows…buy supplies….somedays spend the morning on the river collecting river rocks for jewelry… just anything that is related to painting or jewelry….I feel very accomplished at days end…and usually have a great deal to show for my effort….I also have found that this gives me a weekend…something I was terrible at before…I always thought I needed to work every weekend because there was so much to do…well there still is so much to do…but knowing I have 2 days that are my own is wonderful….I can get out of the house…and know that “So much to do”…will be there Monday…..

my 2 cats are glad to have me home…and it’s kind of nice to see what they’re doing….all day long….other than sleeping most of it away…but hey…they’re cats…I was worried they were getting on the computor…ordering stuff online…acting like they were me…thank goodness I could put those suspicions to rest….

homes like mine…aren’t really designed to work out of…but there is really something very nice about opening the door and I’m at work….and knowing just on the other side of that same door is home…home has always been pretty elusive to me…so this process has solidified a real understanding of what home is…not to mention…my cooking skills are getting better by the day…call me…I’ll make you lunch……..

One thought on “215. January 29th…Huis…Maison…Aom…Repouso….Haus….Casa…. “a place to hang your head”- Grocho Marx

Leave a Reply

