223. February 6th….The Art of the Nap…..

“Moments after my nap”

“Think what a better world it would be if we all, the whole world, had cookies and milk about three o’clock every afternoon and then lay down on our blankets for a nap” – Robert Fulghum

I’ve not been 100% for the past couple of days…fighting some small invader….and last week was very busy to say the least between painting for a show and getting jewelry out for a couple of galleries…there was no time to stop….this morning was no different…I had breakfast with friends…from out of town…bought jewelry supplies and developed a plan that was going to carry out so much in a short period of time…well that plan was completely derailed when I arrived home…there was something else…that was far more important than work…that was a 4 hour nap….I sat for a moment before napping and went over the naps in my life…I’ve taken some of the greatest naps on the planet…afer a month stay in Mexico…napping became part of my life for about 10 years…I even had my business revolve around the mandatory afternoon nap…1pm…I was in bed sleeping until 2:30…boy did we accomplish a lot….

so I began thinking of what makes a nap perfect…and today when I arrived home…all of the planetary alignment was there to encourage a little contemplation on the whole nap issue and come up with the perfect napping conditions…here are what work for me…(Please, your comments would be greatly appreciated)

1. Nap anticipation has to be at a high level 6+ and above

2. Room temperature needs to be no more than 70 degrees

3. Drapes drawn and semi darkness

4. Cool sheets are a must…no electric mattress covers…or heated blankets

5. Clean crisp sheets

6. A warm soft blanket with a thinner top blanket

7. Three pillows…one to hug…one between the knees and one for the head

8. A large glass of cold water on the nightstand

9. A small votive candle

10. Turn off the phone…alarm…any noisemakers

11. Cats and dogs out of the room

12. Nothing or very comfortable sleeping clothes

13. Absolutely nothing on your mind…

14. Some free time

and finally

15. No attachment to the outcome…don’t plan the nap…give the nap a life of it’s own….let what will happen…happen for as long as it does…enjoy every moment of slumber…from that first dive into the sheets to the moment your eyes open and say it’s time…have a drink of water…bath in the luxury of the moment and most of all see how rejuvenated and refreshed you feel…how good everything seems to be….you are there……….

After my nap today I have to say I felt like a million bucks….everything was right in heaven…I felt a thousand times better than I did earlier in the day…and I have a whole new outlook on things…..and in just 4 hours…..

and think…about a nap….it’s cheaper than a vacation… costs less than a massage….doesn’t require eating a lot of things with “Bio”…names in front of  them….it’s not fattening….it’s sugar free…no transfats….”0” cholesterol….no special tools are required…no assemble….you don’t need permission….it’s caffine free….you can do it solo or with however many people you want too….you feel better…look better…..your rejuvinated….it can help you live longer…you can do it just about anywhere….requires no skill….doesn’t take a great deal of time….and best of all it’s free….what do you know that is that good for you and it’s free…..there’s a lot more to napping than we give credit for…I see something really big here….I mean really big….

so tomorrow and the rest of the week…find the time to take a nap…you’ll be glad you did…and so will everybody around you…..happy napping….

One thought on “223. February 6th….The Art of the Nap…..

Leave a Reply

