228, February 11th….Funambulism 101…..don’t try this at home……!!!!

“Angles” 2009

“I think if I found Jesus, and I didn’t know he was lost in the first place, I don’t think he would be all that different from me.” Marylin Manson

a friend of mine has found the person she wants to spend the rest of her life with…I think that’s a wonderful thing…something that will be a great thing for the both of them…..and great for the rest of their lives….another friend of mine is back dating…having dinners and coffees with a variety of men…assessing their attritbutes…asking me about what “This” might mean from a male prespective….hoping to find a good match for her personality and requirements and another friend of mine has moved in with his girlfriend and seems to be doing really well…..at this new arrangement…seems spring is arriving a bit early this year….

I like to see good quality relationships…I have friends that have been together for 25 + years and really admire their ability to make that happen….as the he of one of those relationships told me…”it’s work…but it’s worth it and it always has been worth it”….these days…that makes me weak…I think each successful couple has a method they have developed…that works for them….might not work for everyone else…but for them it’s the recipe that makes everything perfect…I know each successful recipe requires diligence and constant work on both parts to keep up eqilibrium….and balance…..

if you know me…the word “Balance” is a recent acquisition to my life list of “Really most important things I want to learn before I die”…. among many others….but right up there at the top….balance is one of those things….that requires practice….like tightrope walking….tightrope walking is a perfect example of balance… both in the literal and figurative sense…..try tightrope walking this weekend…and I’ll bet you end up in the ER for the better part of the day…probably with a new cast over some appendage…and a promise to the Mrs……that you won’t do that again any time soon….

funambulism tightrope walking-from the Latin funis (rope) and ambulare (walk)….tightrope walkers practice for years gaining balance by a variety of methods….the first and most important….is walking on the edge of a 2×4….laying on the ground for as along as it takes to gain rudimentary balance….or standing on a pillow blindfolded…with one foot up…..that is a far cry from 66 feet above ground on a 1/2 inch cable…or like Jean Francois Gravelet in 1850 who received world acclaim for cooking and eating an omelette (complete with stove and neatly set table) on a high wire stretched over Niagara Falls…..(I’ll bet he had a great marriage…unless of course Mrs. Gravelet failed to see the balance issue as an important issue in marriage)…..

balance is as individualized as a fingerprint…what each of us sees as balance may be completely out of balance to someone else….we also may have a rather fictitious view of balance….thinking we are when we are not….and putting ourselves out there…well out of balance with those we are trying to juggle with….people who are well balanced and have a good sense of equalibrium…..rarely spend time with those that don’t….that’s always a pretty good indicator of where we stand on the balance scale…..chances are if everyone around you is out of balance… you see where this is going….and on the flip side if everyone you know is balanced and can juggle chain saws with no worries….smile….things are probably pretty balanced….

I don’t know how to decide balance in life…I do know when I am in balance….everything works really well…I have time for every aspect of my life without worry…everything is well taken care of…..and the outcomes generally have those around me smiling…..myself included….the more I find myself in balance the more I also find focus….drive and efficiency are increased….

so to those of you who are balanced or think you’re balanced…and in love….or pursuing love….keep on juggling…and if you’re unsure…start with Nerf balls or sponges…or scarfs…(something soft)…before you move on to daggers….fireballs….and live animals….

One thought on “228, February 11th….Funambulism 101…..don’t try this at home……!!!!

Leave a Reply

