232. February 17th…painting for two…is nothing like eating for two….still only a few hundred calories per serving….

“Crack-R” 2010

“They’re funny things, Accidents. You never have them till you’re having them.”
— Winnie the Pooh

I like the idea of painting for a show…specifically making work….that is going to a particular place….I like the pressure…I enjoy the challenge…and I especially like how the paintings almost seem to know…they are unique…they are designed for a space…that is very interesting….I am painting for 2 shows next month…one here in town….the other out of town…the logistics for here are easy…basically just show up with the work…give them to the person who knows where and what they want and that’s it…the other show is different…a small…more intimate venue…more of an artist’s show…so all of the works fit the space….built to match the room…the nice thing about this smaller show is the opportunity to think smaller…take the level of complexity I paint….keep it ramped up yet on a smaller scale…that is a challenging….task…something that has started to happen by working out of a smaller space….

I guess the confines of the space dictate some unconscious….smaller thinking…that is a pretty spectacular event….my paintings will grow based on the size of the studio…I find there is a level of information needed to express what I want…that requires a series of planned/random events take place…these events then have a series of placement on the canvas…until the conversation seems like it’s hard to hear just one stream of words…well in the smaller space…all of this sill takes place…but scaled down…it becomes a much more calculated process….with smaller expectations and smaller results…just by the nature of the thinking…I am enjoying this process very much….

all of this got me thinking how this translates to just living life….I’ve chosen the wide open spaces (geographically) for a reason….I can see further than I can do anything else…..my  personal aquarium…is pretty large…allowing me to grow within the confines of that space…for as along as I need to grow…I wonder how my work would transform….living in a larger more crowded city….with less room to move….perhaps the changes would be significant…or maybe not…

2 thoughts on “232. February 17th…painting for two…is nothing like eating for two….still only a few hundred calories per serving….

Leave a Reply

