238. February 23rd….to your health…10 ways to stay healthier….and it just might include…Dog Biscuits….

“Back with the Living” 2010

“All right, ramblers… Let’s get ramblin.” – Seth Gecko

there is certainly something about coming out of the other end of being sick….after a week of a debilitating cold…stuck in bed…aching…congested and an overall feeling of impending death….I am happy to announce I am back with the living….not completely…there is a part of me that still is the un-dead….but a much smaller part than yesterday….

I know I take feeling well for granted….there is a level of wellness I expect…and why that expectation happens…I don’t know…not so long ago….the smallest blemish on my skin…or a sore throat…was an indicator…I needed to spend some time on Web MD…..I’d find the most exotic possibilities… convince myself I was falling ill to some remote Tasmanian bacteria…or I certainly had a form of  illness found only in those that live in the Andes above a certain elevation who drink…from a particular spring where they have been getting their water for the past 3 thousand years….and I could easily worry about what was next….thank goodness things are better and I have blocked Web MD on my computor….so as not to even think about investigating a new freckle…..

health is so important….I’ve been a smoker….drank heavly for a time….didn’t exercise for years….if the label didn’t have “TRANSFAT” written on it I didn’t want it….I even went as far as wanting a sweet roll and Pepsi for dinner….and not just on 1 occassion….and it’s very easy to forget about what I eat when my life gets busy….and everything around eating is designed for ease….I just have to show up…exchange some money and I get food…it seems reasonable….but I know it is not….the healthiest of choices…..

after this last week of being ill….I’ve promised myself…I’m going to take better care of me….I know there are bugs out there I can do nothing about other than be stronger when we meet….be more prepared in a healthy way….I read an article about 10 small things people can do to increase their health and longevity….here they are:

1. Daily Workouts
2. Not Smoking
3. Owning Pets
4. Eating Wisely
5. Having Good Friends
6. Laughing
7. Being Nice and Positive
8. Meditating
9. Taking Time to Relax
10. Doing Yoga

These all seem pretty reasonable…and think about it…who wouldn’t want to laugh and…..relax more….with some good friends after a yoga workout….and a dog walking….a little meditation before a nice healthy meal….even if you don’t like beets….think about how positively good they are for you….and if you must….focus on tomorrows workout …..while eating them…and before you know it “Poof” no more beets…..and what a better way to end an evening of pure unadulterated health…with stoning the neighbors while he and his wife are having their after dinner cigarettes and zingers with whole milk….on the porch…..stay healthy…….

P.S. Happy…..International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day….(one of my all time favorites)….

One thought on “238. February 23rd….to your health…10 ways to stay healthier….and it just might include…Dog Biscuits….

Leave a Reply

