241. February 26th…50% chance of knowing…what’s behind the door Carol Marol is standing in front of…..could be a Car…or a lifetime supply of “Creamettes”….

“Bamboo” 2010

“I asked Dalai Lama the most important question that I think you could ask – if he had ever seen Caddyshack.” – Jessie Ventura

seems winter is beginning to retreat…step back a few steps each day….this morning I heard dove for the first time in my backyard…that sound is one of the things that announces the end of one thing and the beginning of another…the light becomes different…the days a bit longer each day….everything follows the pattern it has…always….I’d like a random year…staring in January…you know something completely unpredictable….like maybe January to March is a very hot summer….April to August is Fall and winter… September to December is a wonderfully long spring….but just for 1 year…otherwise it would be far to confusing and difficult to get used to the abrupt climate change in the time of the year we least expect it….

there really is something about the predictability of things….most of my life has been a choice of door number one…..two….or….three…and even though that was exciting it is and was very stressful….the unknown remains the unknown for good reason…and to have it thrown in every few pages is a diificult way of reading the book….lately I am as predictable as how…..water boils….I have to say I like that…with predictability comes a certain sense…knowing what to expect next…..it is the idea that to walk…left goes in front of right….until you have arrived….to run….is the same process…just more times…..and….faster…..

it isn’t about re-inventing anything…..it is more about following what is right there…challenging the “Right There”….when it bounces back…generally there is the true answer….going against the true answer…makes the journey less predictable….going with the answer is the process of following the given path…..still a bit unpredictable….but very few new species are going to appear….no adventure need be lost….now if the predictable is months in advance….that is still a scary proposition for me….I mean if you know what you’re wearing to work three months from today….have a calendar that is full for the year….and have only a drawer full of white socks….for me…..it would be time to re-evaluate….

the predictable comes in slivers…and like a magnet….can draw more predictability or repel the idea of more….it waxes and wanes…..works with us when we feel we need more adventure in our lives wanting to know less….as it does when we only wear the same colored t-shirts everyday….and demand the exact same breakfast…for months on end craving to know everything about every minute of the day….I know for 9 weeks…I ate nothing but hot chicken wings….3 meals a day…..now it wasn’t because I was lacking adventure and needed to stay close to home…or wanted something so predictable I could taste it…..I really wanted the bones…for a project….so often times what appears predictable has a completely different end result…..so the idea the what is seen as predictability may just be bone collecting……predictable but not so predictable….

think of gambling…I like to gamble…but I’m not very good at it…..always needed a coach when I played Black Jack….with gambling there is a predictably unpredictable nature of the game….just as there is a unpredictablly predictable nature of the exact same game….

kind of like you’re only wearing the front part of your clothes……and don’t know it all of the time……



Leave a Reply

