249. March 6th…a few of the 765,319 things….it may or may not take to be a good artist

Photograph taken by Judah Monjure, 2010

“When you’re taught to love everyone, to love your enemies, then what value does that place on love?” – Marilyn Manson

Last night we went to the show at Matrix Fine Art…the solo show was Kuzana Ogg…..her work is a mixture of thinly glazed shapes over more glazed shapes that gives the viewer a very etheric look under the veil…she and I talked for a little while and I was so impressed by her committment to producing art it was very inspiring…..

people who call themselves “Artist” are a dime a dozen here in New Mexico…and what really qualifies what an artist is and does….who knows….but I do know what I define an artist as….and what I look for when it comes to aligning myself with other artists that are reading the same page…. producing art is about many things…and to me the most important is “Committmentt… Self-Disciplined“…being in the game…all of the time….without exception….painting everyday…no matter what that day looks like…being an artist to me is also always about “The work….the more work produced ….the more change…stability and style emerges….also the work becomes a barometer…..because someone paints and produces paintings….doesn’t necessarily mean the paintings are any good…for me maybe 10-12% of my work has what I want….the rest goes into the “REWORK” file for a later date…and used as great underpaintings….new places to start….I hear from those that know constantly….to….”Just keep painting“…..as far as the work getting out there…..I have mixed feelings about it….a gallery does not validate anything for me….and certainly doesn’t make or break me as a painter….I think “Exposure ” is the least important aspect of being an artist….and that is based on what you as the artist want your work to do….if it’s coffee mugs…mouse pads and t-shirts….exposure will certainly be the key….but if it is serious representation…that exposure now becomes a marriage…..and you have to decide…what type of marriage do you want….right now I am happy painting and stacking them up against the wall….I often think of the “Reality” of being an artist….and what that means or doesn’t mean….separating the “Ideal” from the “Real“…of being an artist is a task that must be truthful…and always transparent…that gives me a sense of where  I’ve been….where I am….and where I’m going

back to last night….Kuzana told me she paints 10 hours a day….and if you have kept up with her work….you will notice the changes in her work are phenomenal…I know a few artists whose work has developed over time….and it it solely because of committment….

knowing many succesful artists I feel I have a  recipe of their success…in words…choosing the life style….comitting to the task ahead….razor sharp self -discipline….dedicating oneself to the work….and producing massive amounts of work….

Leave a Reply

