257. March 16th…let’s Groove……

“Pods” 2010

“You must begin to think of yourself as becoming the person you want to be.” – David Viscott

2 and 1/2 months into the year already…and before long we will be feeling the heat of the summer of 2010…I am surprised at how quickly time has a way of going…before long I will be another year older….the world will be perhaps a bit less round things will have changed enough to see the difference….a friend of mine just lost his grandmother…she was 102 years old…..born in 1908…..and I find what she lived through to be astonishing….the devices she saw in her life that were going to make her life easier…the history…all of the changes and facelifts the world had…while she was a young girl…a young woman….we don’t think of the many things in out lives that have happened over our lives….and are so common place now…..

in 1969 I bought a “Music Ball”…canary yellow…with an 8 track tape player…FM radio…..and I guess it had some stabilizing equalizer that flashed at different sounds in the music…I could set the tone of the music to fit the type music I was playing in the 8 track…jazz…country…rock and roll…top of the line piece of equipment….you know….it was not only a tape player…but it served as a “Mod” device for my room…with the thumping red lights….beads in the door way…flowers on the windows…peace symbols on every wall….I kept the player for a few years and would sit in the darkness…watching the red flashing lights of the equalizer wondering the purpose …and listen to my favorite 8 track tape….”Moog Music”…a collection of Moog synthesizer music that would take my already altered brain into an even more altered place….my friend got a touch phone that year…in his bedroom…really in his bedroom… a phone that did not require dialing…just touch the numbers…and Bingo…calls were made….everything was on the move….things would change in a day…and a new version of the newest version was out…in no time…my friend  a few years later…showed me a “Cassette tape”…he said…”These little things…are the wave of the future”…small compact fast forward and reverse…even played both side of the tape without ever having to eject it and turn it over…my god what would they think of next…..

in the short time I have been alive…relatively speaking…I have watched Black and White TV because there was no other option….I have booted up computers with floppy discs…owned a VCR that weighed about 45 pounds… owned a “Brick” mobile phone…a pager…another pager  that had “Voice” on it….an Instamatic camera….an 8 track tape player both for the house and in my car…..a cassette player…for my car….a “Quadraphonic Stereo system”….with 4 speakers….a dot matrix printer….a series of platform shoes….pants with absolutely no pockets….rayon shirts….(only for a very brief time)…X-ray glasses from the back of a comic book…sea monkies…magic rocks…3-d posters….leather headbands with various beads…bell bottom pants that were so large that one leg could cover a small animal…..my point is there is a lot we see in a life time…don’t forget about it…dig out the old bronze medallions….the clear acrylic platform shoes…..make a few statements…….

life is far to short and remember….life was designed to live to the fullest…..my thoughts go out to Steve and his family…

Leave a Reply

