259. March 18th….Today is give yourself your own nickname day…I just made the day up a few minutes ago…so…it’ll be slow to catch on….let me know what your new nickname is…..

“Smells like Wet Towels” 2009

“Meaning is not what you start with, but what you end up with” – Peter Elbow

I’d like to be the guy that puts the icing on the cake…just having that job title makes the job the best possible job on the planet…think of it…when someone asks me….”what do you do?”…I’d have to raise my eyebrows a few quick times lower my voice a bit to Barry White levels…and say…”I put the icing on the cake”…..god that sounds nice…everything is always perfect…then….people would even know me as “The icing on the cake guy”…..that would be better than the pope…or maybe even George Clooney…..forget that I had a name….instead of like Prince changing his name to a symbol…which I don’t know anybody that can pronounce his new name….my name is changed to a phrase…and a good one at that….one that everyone understands….without a doubt….even know what the connotation is….that’s what makes it the best….

I like to think of the nicknames I’ve had…and wonder where in the world they came from…some of them are obvious while others were so arbitrary and random…I think of all of my many nicknames…my favorite was “Robert T”…which evolved to “Bobby T”…which finally settled at just “T”….T has nothing to do with my name other than the last letter of Robert….not my middle initial or even close…I started a business at 17 selling rough turquoise…to jewelers…and needed a business card…the printer….added the “T” kind of like a middle initial….and rather than saying anything…I just said “OK”…took the cards and began giving them out by the hundreds….before long…people were calling me asking for …..none other than …”Robert T”…….soon those familiar with me changed it to “Bobby T”…and before long the girl I was kind of dating said to me one day…”T…would you get me a coke while you’re out”…well everyone heard that and for the next few years my name was a letter…..a letter that had nothing to do with anything other than a typo…..

I did have an alter ego once….his name was “Art Zabari”…sort of a pull your pants up high on the waist…black socks with sandels kind of guy that talked in phrases…that were always preceded with…”What you think you’re some sort of”……and then the tirade began…he was relatively short lived…due to the medication starting to work….efficiently…if you know what I mean….

I never really gave any meaning to any of the names….other than “T”….it had a sort of unknown…known…sound….I know that sounds a little Donald Rumsfeldish…..but something about going around being called a letter leads people to believe a multitude of things about the person being called the letter……these days I prefer Robert….unless of course  things begin getting a bit to drab…and I unexpectedly start signing my signature………”The icing on the cake guy”.

2 thoughts on “259. March 18th….Today is give yourself your own nickname day…I just made the day up a few minutes ago…so…it’ll be slow to catch on….let me know what your new nickname is…..

  1. Give myself a new nickname, huh? LOL.

    Can’t think of one–but I do remember, for some reason, several people in high school called my “Indy” for Indiana Jones, and a friend also called me MacGyver for years, for making an emergency parade lyre moments before the performance with duct tape, a pencil, and a popsicle stick.

    Ok–maybe I do have a nickname for myself after all. It’s Ren.

    Like

  2. the only ones I ever had:

    “apples” — from a teacher
    “freckles” — from a kid at school.. but it was very brief.
    “Fred” — from a long-time family friend…. and the only knickname I ever liked…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

