262. March 21st…my friends these days…..are like an Indian restaurant…..

“My Entire Life in Private School” 2009

“One forgives to the degree that one loves” – Francois de la Rochefoucauld

I am in a process of narrowing down…making everything around me…smaller…more manageable…”bitesized”…I’ve noticed my vocabulary is changing….I told a friend of mine the other night…”My friends are getting fewer…more concentrated…much tastier…I think what I meant was exactly that…but “tastier?“…. like the first step into an Indian restaurant…where every fragrance….assaults you…penetrates everything in your body that has to do the sensation of smell….where my time with these people is an event…not just time spent….an experience that I walk away feeling as though I really gained somthing…by just being around them….interacting with them…we share a common level…a similar spot and place…on a parallel  journey….

I have certainly realized it is very easy to occupy time with just about anything…including people who we may think of as one thing when in reality they are something else….they are a filler for us as we may be to them…something we need to be okay with and accept that they are there as we are there for some reason….that’s why there are so many ingredients in a hot dog other than just meat….

here are 2 of my favorite quotes about friends:

“true friends always stab you in the front”- Oscar Wilde

“keep away from those who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great people make you believe that you too can become great”- Mark Twain

enjoy your Sunday…..

One thought on “262. March 21st…my friends these days…..are like an Indian restaurant…..

  1. You are too clever! 😉

    Like the exquisite melting of a curry-cream sauce with cardamom and cumin, cinnamon and turmeric–the flavor and spirit of great friendships do not lie in buffet table quantity.

    Rather, they lie in a simple lunch, seasoned just right (with the right mix of like-minded dishes), and eaten slowly, with mind wide open.

    And, one of my favorite quotes on friendship:

    “Opportunistic relationships can hardly be kept constant.

    The acquaintance of honorable people, even at a distance, does not add flowers in times of warmth or change its leaves in times of cold: it continued unfading through the four seasons, becoming increasingly stable as it passes through ease and danger.”

    –Zhuge Liang, ~200 AD
    (This was Zhuge’s credo of life–that associating with true friends and honorable people isn’t about adding feathers to your cap, it’s about weathering all things, good and bad, for better or for worse. Less is more.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

