267. March 27th…Mea Culpa…..doesn’t that mean “Happy Friday”…in Latin…???

“The Laundry” 2010

“Textbooks are Soviet propaganda” Jerry Falwell

I went to a parochial school for 8 years…in that time there was the religious dogma that guided all of us uniform clad youngsters the direction religion leads people….I was far to  engrossed in the beauty of the things around me…to pay a great deal of attention to all of the sufferng…blasphemy…and death….we were being taught….the church was filled with some of the most incredible stain glass windows….intricately detailed….designed to be almost life-like….I would sometimes stare at one particular window for hours….because I liked the color of the robe Christ was wearing…a deep purple…darker than grapes….and how the tree stump was made…it was sort of a cartoon tree stump…but that I kept to myself…somehow the relationship of Christ resting his clasped hands and staring toward heaven….on a cartoon tree stump…doesn’t have a good end result if spoken out loud to a tight collared priest….

sitting in this massive church by myself…always got me points….because I sat quietly and stared in an upward direction….at all of the lavish decor the church had…anytime I was question about what I was doing…I simply said….”Thinking about God”……that answer got me out of a great deal of stuff….Priests want to hear stuff like that….

I was an altar boy for a few years…wore the white billowy outfit…lit the candles and either held the bible or stood behind the priest holding an elaborately decorated cross about 10 feet tall…..while he spoke to the masses…later in life I realized he could have been the priest double for the Father Karris in the Exorcist…as they could have been twins….

I returned to the Parish school sometime in he late 90’s…no more uniforms….the top floor where all of the  classrooms were is now being renovated because the windows in each room are the only surviving works done by a particular craftsman…the parish chapel….is still very dark and forboding…while the larger church is filled with light and my favorite window hasn’t changed a bit…maybe gotten a bit smaller in my bigger mind…but things are still roughly the same…

at the time….going to a Parish school was like having a giant pimple on the end of my nose….for a few years…everybody noticed…me…with my blue on blue uniform…my sweater…large patch over my heart…..and brief case….there was no hiding it….we were targets….yet looking back on it…the experience was a unique gift…rounded me in a way that might not really be round but looked like it….and over all we were a large version of a small club…my 8th grade graduating class had 9 people in it….7 of them…I had been in school with since  1st grade…..

for as religious as I am not…..I have to say the consistency of the Parish has stayed very true to its origins….and has changed little if any….and for what ever that is worth…sombody is happy….

Here we are:

That’s me…between the 2 guys with the glasses…….

One thought on “267. March 27th…Mea Culpa…..doesn’t that mean “Happy Friday”…in Latin…???

Leave a Reply

