270. March 30th…It’s right over there….over the rainbow…..on the other side of that hill…where the wind blows and they sell big glasses of butter milk…right there by that crying baby…..

“The Land of Oz” 2010

“Never give up. No one knows what’s going to happen next.” L. Frank Baum

we are in the midst of this weird time…somewhere between winter and spring…I don’t particularly care for this time because of the unpredictable nature of each day…one day a jacket…the next short sleeves…I’d rather the change be abrupt…eliminates the guessing and all of the preparation necessary just to go for an afternoon….

this time of year is awkward for me….I get off track very quickly…and begin to pile things up…as I have all of my life…I suppose…this is about hoarding for the winter…finding I don’t need all of the stuff I hoarded and standing amidst it wondering how all of this happened….and most importantly…what to do with it…it seems such an arduous task….yet one really good thing has come from it….I am going to narrow down even further…this summer…get rid of the things I’ve not touched  for 6 months…that makes sense….

where I grew up…the wind this time of year blew unmercifully for a couple of months…generally everything was covered in a brown gritty shroud filled with swirling paper…tumbleweeds….plastic bags…and anything that could stick to you and stay stuck to you for as long possible….it was a trip to purgatory….just gave you a taste of what being a bad person was going to be like for an eternity…..

speaking of which…have you ever tried figuring out your personal hell….I love to figure out someone’s hell based on all of the things they tell me they can’t stand….it is really interesting that someone’s personal hell might include things like drinking milk that has been sitting out for 20 minutes….or wearing garbage bags around all day…or shoes without socks…or really old people….or being licked in the face by a dog….and when you think about it…singley….nothing is really that bad….but combine a dozen or so things that tip you right over he edge and that’s when hell begins to emerge….just a little side trip……

but this is part of my hell….”WIND”…..a daily dose of 30 mile per hour winds….is like a good hard….pince for me….something I have never liked and never will like…..so there is the climate for my hell….throw in some tight spaces for a few hours….large plates of really soft over cooked vegetables…..eating cans of salmon with the spinal bones of course…..a baby crying endlessly….someone blowing a car horn…..really loud static on the radio…standing in a crowd of people with really bad body odor….a few well placed hard pinches every 5 minutes or so….a heaping glass of butter milk……fingernails scratching the chalk board ……and my hell appears to be pretty complete….see what I’m getting at

so in theory if there is a hell….I need to be very careful…that I live my life with really really good intentions and actions….and the more I think about the “Transition” from winter to spring…and the wind…and my dislike of the whole thing…..I am going to embrace it instead….learn to love it….after all….I’m here and not there….and here at least I’m not certain what’s going to happen at any moment…where as there…I pretty much know what each day is going to look like…..

come wind…30 mph is all you got…!!!!…and I’m wearing layers of clothes that I don’t really like so I can leave them where I take them off when it warms up….I am loving this weather…..really……I am…..

Leave a Reply

