273. April 2nd….and I’m not distracted at all…really I’m not…..

“Great Idea…Questionable Direction” 2010

“He dares to be a fool, and that is the first step in the direction of wisdom” – James Gibbons Huneker

stepping to the place we want….I think began a great many years ago….there is that natural calling within us that leads us to the place we belong…yet through a myriad of distractions that seem like they are…a part of the journey…we take a little longer…to get there…

distraction plays a huge role…in what we get and how much of what we get happens….the distraction may seem very much aligned with the plan…looks kind of like it…seems to have a lot of the same feel about it…. but is nothing more than a device that pulls us from the original goal….I recently began looking at “Artist resedencies” across the US….not because that’s what I wanted to do at all…and not because it is part of the plan…more it seemed like the logical way of getting closer to what I wanted…when in reality it was taking me further away from what it is I want…as an artist the goal is to produce art…and the resedencie seemed like a reasonable way of producing art…and it was…except not in the method and way I wanted to produce art….enough of a change that my goal became compromised….

given the goal is clearly defined…the distractions become smaller…less likely to alter the journey…yet when the goal is broad…..clear as it can be for that given day…distractions become like dryer lint…I’m not saying you can’t  learn a great deal from a good distraction…but is it what you want to be learning right then and there…some will argue “it is what it is”….and part of the pursuit…for me it is not part of the pursuit…it really becomes a way of stretching out the time between pursuit and everything else….

I’ve begun asking myself a series of questions when I am in doubt of something being a distraction or part of the plan…..

1. is this helping me get what I am wanting?….if yes…..no further questions….

if no…..

2. what is it doing then?

and

3.  what should I be doing to answer “Yes” to question 1?

seems pretty simple….yet somedays the distractions seem to be waiting at the door….like Fuller Brush men…

One thought on “273. April 2nd….and I’m not distracted at all…really I’m not…..

Leave a Reply

