276. April 5th…Absolute…Absoluut…Absolu…Assoluto…Absoluto….it all sounds so Absolute….

“The Nature of the Absolute” 2009

“Sing then the core of dark and absolute oblivion where the soul is lost in utter peace” – D. H. Lawrence

while waking this morning…..I asked myself if there were a word that I wanted to describe how I would like this day to unfold…what would it be….that word came to me…without hesitation…or…thought…and that word was…”Absolute”

Absolutefree from restriction or limitation; not limited in any way

I imagine that is due to what was on my mind as I went o sleep…yet paid little attention to how important it must have been to rest there all night…and come up with this word so effortlessly this morning….I was at the house of a recent friend of mine yesterday…who truly lives an “Absolute” life…one where the obstacles and encumbrances are not apparent….something we all do but rarely outwardly express….a persons home is a great way of knowing more about a person…we make our homes places that represent us…give those that enter that space a glimpse of who we really are when the lights go out….

I like the notion that individuality is expressed in many cases….in one’s home…..by a quick glimpse of a person….we make a series of decisions about them…decide what they do…who they are and how they do what they are….we make up brief stories to fill in the gaps….and then move on to the next person….

how we express ourselves is interesting….without words…..visually….conversation….postureing…….looking like something right out of a magazine….products….labels…..something very expensive….paint all over our clothes…..

while sitting at an outdoor cafe in San Francisco with a friend of mine some years ago….both of us looking  opposite directions down Chestnut street…I noticed an extremely handsome couple…both wearing very expensive  black clothes….she was a stunning Japanese woman…he a movie star looking guy…they were walking a Jack Russell terrier…slow paced…and making certain they were visible….I commented to my friend who began laughing when I pointed the couple out…after composing herself she pointed towards the opposite side of the street…..the side I could not see unless I turned around……there was…an extrememly handsome couple…both wearing very expensive  black clothes….she was a stunning Japanese woman…he a movie star looking guy…they were walking a Jack Russell terrier…slow paced…and making certain they were visible…..I’m certain the mirror image was noticable……perhaps even a topic of conversation later over an expensive dinner….

and I just wonder if their homes were exactly the same………….

we express our individuality in things we hold dear to us….smooth stones…sticks….bones…broken pieces of glass…..feathers…the atttempts at the things in life that maybe we’re not so good at ….our collections of precious things….all of the small that make our life big….and I love that…I love touching every cricket cage I have up on my shelf….and looking into the box I store all of the cat whiskers that fall from the faces of my 2 cats….I love sitting at my dining room table and looking at each and every piece of “Stuff” in the big wooden bowl…handling every oval smooth black stone I’ve collected….or looking through the broken bits of colored glass…towards the window….

making those noises….like on a 4th of July fireworks display…..

Happy birthday Sugarman……..

One thought on “276. April 5th…Absolute…Absoluut…Absolu…Assoluto…Absoluto….it all sounds so Absolute….

  1. Lovely post! Funny story about the mirror couples. Do you think that was planned? It would be cool to work out a performance piece in public and have many mirror-people, like, in a swarm 😀

    Reading the last part of your post made me look around our place to see what clues there are to its occupants. “On the way through” is what I got or maybe it’s just wishful thinking. I feel fine here, knowing I cannot know what even tomorrow will bring. Today is mighty fine and that works for me.

    In my heart I’ve always longed for a place more like yours. When I step inside your house I feel I’m entering a creative temple and I love every part of it. I like to peer down closely at those stones and treasures in shallow dishes. I like to study the shapes and how they all live together so wonderfully. I like that you open yourself the way you do.

    Thank you 🙂 Happy Monday, Robert!

    Like

Leave a Reply

