278. April 7th….”How”… you’re walking is as important as…”Where” you’re walking…step 1-5..discovery doesn’t have to be an avalanche….

“Wind Makers” 2010

“Sometimes the best way to figure who you are is to get to that place where you don’t have to be anything else” – Unknown

maybe the notion of discovery is far too overrated…all of our lives we are in search of the things that keep us even and in the right direction…always looking for the true “Me“…whatever that may look like….but isn’t the “True You” looking for the “True You“…in essence….all of the time….we are not going to find a better us…..something that was just waiting for us to stumble upon it….change into like a new pair of pants…and some slick new shoes….we don’t make a transition from “Regular old me“….. to…. “New me“…and such a transition that the results are noticalbe….we do go from larvae to butterfly….just not with so much drama…..and over a much greater period of time…so change is designed to be gradual…discovery is a process that often being there…is the place that you are supposed to be at…at that moment….yet we scan the horizon…looking for the place to be….

when I was a small child my father taught me how to never get lost…his method was pretty simple… STEP 1.stand “Here“….STEP 2. look to “There“…STEP 3. look past  “There” to “Over There“…to a spot….find a landmark….and walk to it……STEP 4. verify the landmark… STEP 5. look back to “There” and the original “Here“…and walk in those 5 steps…..always recounting where I’d been……it may seem like a great deal of work to just get there from here…..but after a few hundred times and practice…it becomes cellular…and so a part of the internal guidance system…geting lost is impossible…..the secret to the entire method to avoid getting lost is “Recounting all of the places I’d been“….and I guess that says to me:

knowing where I’ve been can always help get me to where I want to be…but I have to have a general idea of where I’m going first…..

the SW is the perfect place to live when planning how not to get lost in life…..we have a literal playing field….. I’m…here…want to get over there…by going through there…it’s all pretty simple…..the landscape is perfect for this….here’s what I mean….

see how simple this is……

so discovery in my opinion is overrated….it’s like the blood flowing through our body…or breathing…we do it everyday without thought…and when we do have to think about it….is when it becomes important….our personal discoveries….happen every second of every day…and have for many years…and if I ever need or want a new costume to acknowledge the “New Me“…It’ll be a cowboy outfit or maybe a clown suit….perhaps one of those cool astronaut helmets with monster suit…..something different….


Leave a Reply

